Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Hidden Among Yourselves, by Bill Hiatt, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



Author Bill Hiatt has once again proven his ability to weave a spellbinding tale with the third book in his series about Taliesen Weaver, a teen who possesses magical powers and has lived countless past lives.  Book three picks up with Tal struggling to move past his anger over his good friend stealing away Eva, the girl of his dreams, amid dealing with an evil supernatural force bent on killing him.

Later, at a meeting of the tribunal, Tal is tasked with procuring the lyre of Orpheous.  He only has two weeks time to complete this inconceivable undertaking or risk an evil rival being released from imprisonment.  Armed with a team of friends with otherworldly powers, his magical sword, and a reed pipe, he sets out to conquer the foreboding forces that would deter his efforts to save Santa Brigida.  In a world where things are rarely as they seem,Taliesen finds himself waging a war of magical skill and wits against opponents he'd never believed truly existed.

Author Bill Hiatt possesses a knack for portraying dramatic events with vivid depth while weaving captivating tales of fantasy and adventure.  Hidden Among Yourselves is book three in the Spell Weaver series.  It can well be read as a stand-alone, but is recommended as part of a series.  Hidden Among Yourselves has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Bristol Bay Summer, by Annie Boochever, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



Bristol Bay Summer, by Annie Boochever, is the story of a young girl who spends a summer in the "real Alaska" with her brother, mother and her mom's new boyfriend.  Zoey Morely is twelve, going on thirteen and is still grieving the loss of a family that once was.  She hasn't heard from her dad in nearly a year and now her mom's new boyfriend wants to drag them all out to live in tents in the wilderness at Bristol Bay.

When Zoey meets Thomas, a boy at the next camp over, she resents his new nick-name for her, city girl.  But when she gets a job working for Thomas' family, she is determined to ditch her city girl image and prove that she can work just as hard as he can.  Zoey is determined to make enough money to go see her father in Colorado in the hopes of finally learning why she hasn't heard from him in so long.

Author Annie Boochever has crafted a superb coming of age story that will resonate with young readers on many levels.  Bristol Bay Summer offers a rare combination of adventure, drama and age appropriate romance, all presented in a highly plausible story.  Boochever is a gifted story-teller who writes with a genuine voice and  has tackled relevant issues of growing up and dealing with loss in this powerful and engaging preteen novel.

Bristol Bay Summer comes highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Author Spotlight: W. Nikola-Lisa on his Top Honors award winning book



When did you first know you wanted to be a writer and why?
In my mid-20s, I was a parent of two young daughters and a second grade teacher. That pretty much did it as I was reading children’s books day and night, and fell in love with them and the art of writing.
As a child, what did you aspire to be when you grew up?
I grew up on a ranch in south Texas. What did I want to be? Easy. A cowboy!



How did you get the idea for your award winning title?
I was doing research for another book—Dear Frank: Babe Ruth, the Red Sox, and the Great War—and I stumbled upon a few things that puzzled me, like... Who were the Yankees before they came to New York? How did they get started? Why did it take them two years to enter the New York market? Perplexing questions are always my starting point.
What has been your greatest literary accomplishment?
Having published 25 books over a 25 year period. Equally important was winning the State of Wisconsin’s 2001 Golden Archer Award for Shake Dem Halloween Bones. The Golden Archer Award is a children’s choice award, which makes it even sweeter.
What literary achievement has had the greatest impact on your life as a writer?
My fourth book—Bein’ With You This Way—because it was a multi award-winning book that has taken me to many different audiences I could never have imagined.
Can you tell us some of the other books have you published?
Can you tell us something our readers will find interesting about your writing style?
I often write standing up. I learned this from an interview with the great singer/songwriter Paul Simon, who often stands throwing a rubber ball against a wall to establish a rhythm and melody. That seems to work for me, especially when I’m stuck.
Which author has most greatly influenced your writing style?
Actually there are several: M. B. Goffstein, Jane Yolen, and George Ella Lyon.
Can you describe the process of becoming published and any tips you might offer for other aspiring authors?
You need three things: intelligence, creativity, and persistence. Of the three, persistence is the most important. You have to knock on a lot of doors, many of which don’t open, or at the least don't open very easily.
Can you offer any advice for writers on how best to promote their book?
Join Goodreads.com, by far the best and most wide-ranging reading community on the internet. Great for making connections with other literary types.
Is there anything else you'd like to share with our readers?
People ask me two questions all the time: Why do I write? Who do I write for? The answer: I write because I can’t seem to turn it off, and I write first and foremost for myself—that’s how I learn, by reading and note-taking. My books are simply a by-product of my learning process.
Do you have any new books in the works?
Why, of course,....
My next book goes to press early next year. Entitled Shark Man, it is a follow-up to my memoir Dragonfly, only Shark Man is not a memoir; it is a novelization of my adolescent years growing up on the Florida beaches. It should be out by March 2015 and available on Amazon, both as a paperback and as a kindle e-book.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Motive Games, Death Down Under, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Phil Roland has been set up.  Someone has gotten their hands on SAII, the most recent game created by his deceased father's company, and sabotaged it.  SAII is hacked right before it is to be released at a gaming show in Auckland, tainting their chance to ever get the game published.  And the worst part is that someone has made Phil the fall guy.  Murder, intrigue, and suspense abound in this fast-paced, high stakes novel about a young man determined to set things straight before time runs out.  Gamers and technogeeks are sure to love this book which portrays a fascinating glimpse into the competitive world of gaming.

Motive Games, Death Down Under, is book #2 in the series by L.D. Taylor.  While book #2 may be read as a stand-alone, readers may spend some time playing catch up.  We recommend reading book #1 first, as the series makes for a great choice for readers, especially those who have an interest in gaming.

Author L.D. Taylor's firsthand experience in the world of gaming helps make this book a fascinating and enlightening read.  With well developed characters and a plot that resonates on many levels, this book earns our recommendation and has received the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Sunday, January 11, 2015

Author Spotlight - Lynne Stringer, on her award winning title, The Heir


Author, Lynne Stringer, on her award winning title,





WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?: I wrote my first book when I was eight. I can also remember telling my father I wanted to be a writer when I was four, so I guess I've always had the desire in me. When I was a teenager, I used to novelise movies and episodes of TV shows I liked and that was a great training ground for my writing.
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP? At three, I decided I wanted to be an actress. At four, I decided I wanted to be a writer. Although the acting dream didn't come true on a major level, both desires have never left me. Both were based on the desire to tell stories.
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?: My husband likes cheesy pick-up lines (not that he uses them on me … or anyone else, for that matter!) When we were going on holidays once, he was telling me his favourites while he was driving. I was trying to reciprocate but the only one I could think of was when the guy tells the girl, 'You are the only reason I was put on this planet.'
As I thought about it, I imagined a guy saying that to a girl. In my mind, she replied, 'Yeah, right.'
Then he said, 'No, you are the only reason I was put on this planet.'
That made me wonder … what if a guy said that to a girl and he meant it literally? The idea for The Heir was born and I spent most of our holiday thinking about it.
TELL US SOMETHING INTERESTING ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER: At my son's school they have a book club for the older grades and the book club read The Heir. One day, when I was walking my son to school, a girl came up to me and said, 'Excuse me, are you the author of The Heir?' When I said yes she started telling me how much she'd loved it. I felt like a celebrity!
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE?: I'm not sure I've been influenced as far as style goes. I think my style is my own. Authors whose books I like include Enid Blyton, the Brontes and Stephenie Meyer.
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte had a huge impact on me when I first read it. Prior to that, everything I'd written was in third person, but that book woke me up to the appeal of first person. Another book was Twilight. At the time I read it, it had been years since I'd read a novel and I hadn't tried writing any fiction for a decade. That book made me realise anew how moving fiction could be and I took up my pen, novelised a couple of TV episodes (just like I'd done when I was a teenager), then wrote The Heir.
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?: Receiving the Literary Classics silver award for The Heir in their young adult science fiction section.
HAVE YOU PUBLISHED ANY OTHER BOOKS?: Yes, The Crown (Verindon #2), The Reign (Verindon #3)
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?: I am currently working on a manuscript, tentatively titled, How Far Forgive? It is a contemporary drama about a girl who is involved in a hostage drama and has to find a way to forgive her attacker.  --It isn't available yet, as it is still in the production stage. To keep an eye on what's happening with it, follow me via my website: www.lynnestringer.com or my Facebook page, or on Twitter @TheHeirNovel.
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?:
Don't give up. Keep trying. Try and get an agent, as it will help. But even if you can't do that, don't stop. And before you do anything else, get a professional edit on your work. I can't stress this enough. Don't wait for the agent or publisher to have it done for you. They may well refuse your work because it's not up to scratch. Get an edit FIRST. If you decide to self-publish I would get three edits, because if you do self-publish, the onus is on you to get it right the first time. You don't want to put off potential fans because you produce work that isn't up to scratch.
Also, be prepared to accept criticism. You will get it.
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK? Try and be involved in sites for other books in your genre and do this because you like those books, not just because you want to promote yourself. People will be more inclined to show an interest in your work if they are encouraged by the fact that you share a mutual love for another title. And don't 'sell' at people all the time. Nothing is more annoying than someone who does nothing but put constant sales pitches on their Facebook page or Twitter feed. Talk about your writing journey and what you're doing. Also become involved as an author on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and anywhere else you can find.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, January 8, 2015

Jennifer Gibson's Destiny earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



Destiny is book #3 in a series about Jessie, a high school student who is hearing impaired.  Jessie wants to fit in, she wants to be treated like the other students in her school.  But the truth is, she needs to struggle harder than her classmates in order to succeed at most things.  It's not an easy road for Jessie.  But through it all, as she matures, she gains confidence and becomes a stronger person as she works beyond her disability to achieve her goals.

Author Jennifer Gibson continues to engage and inspire readers as they follow the life of Jessie, a young girl who has learned compassion for others through her own personal struggles.  Destiny is a book that will appeal to readers young and old.

Destiny comes highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.





LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Evidence of Things Not Seen, by Lindsey Lane, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



Evidence of Things Not Seen is an exploration of humanity as seen through the eyes of an eclectic collection of people all connected by a single location believed by one young man to be the portal to a parallel universe.  Tommy Smythe is a high-school brainiac obsessed with thoughts of particle physics and the concept of a multiverse.  When he goes missing, people begin to speculate upon his disappearance.  Some hypothesize he may have ventured out to find his biological parents.  Others surmise his easily distracted nature caused him to simply wander off.  Some even dare to imagine that he may have found a way to cross over to the parallel universe about which he so constantly obsesses.

The philosophical  meanderings of Tommy are revealed through snippets from his journal, further supporting the fact that Tommy truly believes in the possibilities of passing between physical states within space and time.  Author,  Lindsey Lane's experience as a playwright is evident in the powerful way in which she creates vignettes throughout this intriguing novel.  Pithy monologues of various characters as they ponder the whereabouts of Tommy, the "adorkable" genius who never quite seems to understand how to connect with people on an emotional level, help to further enhance this artfully penned work of fiction.

Evidence of Things Not Seen is an engaging and suspenseful novel which will stay with readers long after the last page has been turned.   This New-Adult Fiction work has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.   

--Evidence of Things Not Seen contains mature content.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Monday, January 5, 2015

AUTHOR MELANIE SCHWAPP ON HER AWARD WINNING BOOK - DEW ANGELS

AUTHOR  MELANIE SCHWAPP ON HER AWARD WINNING BOOK  
 


DEW ANGELS


WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?: As a child, that was how I expressed myself. I learnt how to interpret and transfer emotion from within myself to paper, and as I got older, I developed an interest in observing human interactions. At school, writing assignments got me the highest grades, and by the time I attended college, it had become my passion.

AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP? I wanted to be a Journalist and cover events all over the world

HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?: I've always loved mornings - the freshness and quietness of the beginning of a new day. The glistening look of everything covered in dew gave me the idea of  Dew AngelsDew Angels actually took me seven years to complete, and when I was finished I couldn't understand why I felt so sad. One day I realized that it was because the characters had become such a large part of my life that I missed them terribly.

TELL US SOMETHING INTERESTING ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER: When my children were young, my husband and I would read to them every night at bedtime. However, one summer we went to the UK for vacation, and at bedtime we realized that we'd forgotten to pack all of the children's favorite books. To appease them, I began to tell them stories relating to the myths of my country, Jamaica, using a girl called 'Lally-May' as the main character. Very soon, my husband also came to listen to the stories, and every day as we went sightseeing they would all ask me, 'What is Lally-May going to do tonight'. So 'Lally-May', the character of my first children's book, was born out of necessity on that vacation, and now has become a popular character for many young Jamaican children.

WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE?: Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche; Toni Morrison

WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?: A Woman of Substance was one of the first novels I read when I graduated from my Nancy Drew series as a young girl. I couldn't believe that a book so big could have gripped me so much on every single page. That book began my love affair with novels.

WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?: I think completing my very first novel, Dew Angels, and them hearing from the very first reader just how much the book impacted her was one of the greatest accomplishments for me. Writing had always been such a personal experience, so presenting my book to the public and hearing that it really did have some validity meant the world to me.

HAVE YOU PUBLISHED ANY OTHER BOOKS?: Yes,  LALLY-MAY'S FARM SUSS

CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?: In Jamaica, it is very difficult to get a publisher as a first time author, so I eventually had to self-publish. However, my recommendation to authors is to write your heart out, and then get the best editor you can find to help to 'pare' your material into an effective piece. Even in self-publishing, I find that a great editor helps to direct you where you may sometimes get carried away with your own emotion by giving you objective advice and very constructive criticism.

CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK? Readings and readings and more readings. Talk shows, radio shows, cable shows, school readings, library readings ... I think getting out into the public as much as possible and putting a face and personality to your work begins conversation that stimulates lots of interest. People are very curious about the process of creativity, so when you present yourself as a personable character, I find that the public wants to delve a little more 'behind the scenes' and want to see exactly what you've written. They may or may not like your book, but it is still a positive thing that conversation about your work is being generated.

DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?: I am working on another novel which I'm hoping will not take me as long as Dew Angels took to complete.  I am not quite sure yet - hopefully this time around I will be able to use a publishing house so we will see what happens



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Friday, January 2, 2015

Super Human Encyclopedia earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


The Super Human Encyclopedia is an amazingly thorough book featuring hundreds of high-tech facts about the human body.  Things you could never imagine about the human body are all presented in a fun and interesting way that is sure to pique the curiosity of readers young and old.  Graphics, photos and illustrations are an eye-catching and helpful addition to this book that is chock-full of amazing information about the human body. Photographs with overlaid illustrations provide an in-depth look at the inner-workings of the human body, along with countless other illustrations and photographs that help keep this book highly engaging.  Any page you turn to, you'll find unique insights into our bodies and what they're capable of doing. This is less of a study guide or academic resource, and more of a "Ripley's Believe it or Not" type book that will appeal to readers of all ages.

This book comes highly recommended for home and school libraries and would be great for gift-giving.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Adoptive Father, by Kayleen West, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval







Adoptive Father is a children's picture book, written and illustrated by Kayleen West,  that epitomizes the perfect love exhibited by God the Father and his son Jesus.   Every child wants to be accepted and loved, yet not all children experience unconditional love.  Adoptive Father teaches children that they are all children of God and that their Father God in heaven knows no bounds in his ability to love them completely.

Beautifully colorful and expressive illustrations paired with lovely words to comfort and guide children make this a book that is sure to become a favorite to be returned to again and again.

Adoptive Father comes highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Monday, December 29, 2014

Odie's Best Friend, by Kristen Mott, earns the Children's Literary Classics Seal of Approval

Odie's Best Friend is the precious story of Odie and his old friend Bandit.  One day Odie asks his friend how he came to the farm where they both live.

Bandit shares with Odie the tale of how he was abandoned at a shelter by the family of a young girl who had loved him very much.  As his sad story unfolds, Odie learns how, over time, Bandit finally came to find a place to call home.  Author Kristen Mott has a very lovely way of relaying the sense of sadness that Bandit once felt, and his reluctance to trust someone to fully love him after he's been hurt so many times.  As Bandit learns to trust, he finds a forever home, a girl to love and care for him, and his very best friend Odie.

Odie's Best Friend is a story that will connect with young readers on many levels.  There is the message that animals have feelings and that the responsibility to love and care for an animal is a decision not to be taken lightly.  This book teaches compassion and would also translate well for youngsters who may have their own personal experience with foster homes and other areas of sadness and personal loss. 

Odie's Best friend comes highly recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Author Spotlight, Robin Donaruma, on her award winning YA book, The Undecided

AUTHOR ROBIN DONARUMA



THE UNDECIDED



WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?: My senior year of high school when I met Chaucer, Shakespeare, Twain, Donne and Austen.

AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP? A famous writer.

TELL US SOMETHING INTERESTING ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE WRITING THE UNDECIDED: I began this story with my main character, Lucas, being color blind. It wasn't until I was nearly finished with the novel that I realized Lucas kept referring to colors in the text. Oops. A rewrite was born.

WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE?: Growing up I loved Dean Koontz who beautifully blended the supernatural with intrigue.

WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?: The Scarlet Pimpernel started my love affair with reading and writing.

WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?: Getting published!

CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?: Go in understanding that it can be a longer journey than first anticipated. My journey lasted three years. Try not to take it personally and never, ever give up.

CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK? Libraries are our friends and the more you get it out there, the more it will be read and talked about.

IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU'D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS?: Even after being published, the work isn't done. Marketing is the next hurdle to really get your book out there and get it known.

 
HAVE YOU PUBLISHED ANY OTHER BOOKS? Yes,  Sweetest Confection (Historical Romance) 
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?: The sequel is brewing in my brain as we speak.
 


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Saturday, December 27, 2014

The Reign, by Lynne Stringer, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



The Reign, by Lynne Stringer, is a gripping novel which takes readers on a veritable roller-coaster ride of sci-fi adventure.  Sarah is the Overlord of the planet where she has lived for only a short time.  Her position and title is her birthright, but there are those who do not respect her as the newly appointed leader of their world.  Thankfully she is under the protection of some the finest and most faithful guards who will risk anything to ensure her safety.  But when someone from Sarah's past shows up, Sarah is haunted by questions that have plagued her for years.  Determined to get answers, she sets out to find the truths that have been hidden from her since her childhood.

Book #3 in the Verindon series is filled with action, romance, and enough plot twists to keep the reader guessing all the way to the end.  Stringer has skillfully crafted a tale which will appeal to readers who enjoy science fiction, romance, mystery and even action novels.  This book reads well as a stand-alone, but should be read as part of the series to be fully appreciated. 

The Reign is highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Night of Pan, by Gail Strickland, earns the CLC Seal of Approval




Thaleia is a young girl who was betrothed to Brygos, a considerably older brute of a man, when she was just five years old.  Night of Pan begins when Thaleia is fifteen years of age.  The  day has come for her to be married, but feeling she can't possibly marry Brygos, she flees her village.  As she takes flight through the woods she has a face-to face encounter with the god Pan, who persuades her to stay in Delphi, where she is needed by her people.

As the story progresses, Thaleia comes to learn who she is and what her role is as the Oracle of Delphi.  But realizing her potential and fulfilling her destiny will not be easy when an imposter Oracle is already established. Saving Delphi seems nearly impossible when she must prove that she is the true Oracle and find a way to defeat the power-hungry priest, Diokles, who is determined to stop Thaleia at all costs. 

Night of Pan is a suspenseful and intriguing book that will appeal to a broad audience, especially those interested in Greek mythology.  Author Gail Strickland has skillfully woven mythology and history into an engaging coming of age novel that is sure to connect with young readers on many levels.

Night of Pan has received the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Monday, December 22, 2014

Author, Steven Whibley, on his award-winning title, Glimpse







WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?:
I think deep down I knew I wanted to write stories. I remember getting totally and completely lost in the Hardy Boys books, and wishing I could write an adventure like that. I still gravitate to those books when I’m in the library. That said, it wasn’t until 2008, after an injury laid me up that I started to seriously consider trying to write novels.

AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP?
My father was a firefighter, and I was sure that was the route for me. The excitement of it. The rushing out of the house in the middle of the night to put out a burning building. It was exactly what I aspired to.

HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?:
The idea came from a day-dream. A single scene played out in my mind’s eye: There was a boy, about 13 or 14 years old, sitting in history class while his teacher droned on about the War of 1812. Suddenly his teacher was beside him… only not really, because she was still at the front of the class too. He straightened up and blinked at the new teacher, and then glanced at the teacher at the front of the room, then back to the new teacher, then over his shoulder at his best friend sitting behind him, who, it seemed, hadn’t noticed the arrival of the peculiar twin.

The twin-teacher slowly began to shift… She dropped a shoulder and twisted her waist. Then she hunched forward, and her right arm stiffened and twisted upward. Her face became the color of wet clay, and her mouth slowly opened until she resembled a crumpled, zombie-like version of herself.

Then she screamed.

It was a terrifying shrill cry that sent the already horrified kid to the ground. And, just like that, it was over. The kid was on the ground, panting and sweating, but the twisted version of his teacher was gone. More than that, it was clear he’d been the only one to notice the apparition.

My daydream ended, and I just knew the teacher had 24 hours to live and the boy was the only one who could save her.


TELL US SOMETHING RANDOM ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER:
One of the reasons I’m able to write as much as I do, is because I don’t sleep very much. 2-3 hours a night. I even have a novel I’m working on about a kid who doesn’t sleep. I’m treating it like a fictionalized autobiography.

WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?:
As common as it is to hear, I have to say that the Harry Potter series did. I picked up those books in my late teens and was transported (along with millions of others) into the world JK Rowling had created. It reignited my love of reading. And in particular, my love of children’s literature.

WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?:
Of course, it’s winning the gold medal from Literary Classics.

CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?:
It is a great time to be a writer. So many options exist for people who write. The trade route, which often involves a literary agent and a publisher, is a great way to do things, but so too is the self-publishing route. My sincere advice for aspiring authors is to learn as much as they can about the industry. Not just the self-publishing model, or the trade model, but everything. Make the decision carefully, but when it’s time, walk boldly.

IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU’D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS?:
Just a big THANK YOU for taking the time to read this interview and for checking out my books.

DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?:
Always! Book 4 in the Dean Curse Chronicles is well underway. Book 2 in my CAMBRIDGE FILES is in editing. Plus my agent is pitching a new series I’ve been working on, to publishers.

HOW CAN OUR READERS LEARN MORE ABOUT YOUR NEXT BOOK?
They can visit my website and subscribe to my mailing list if they’re at all interested in hearing about my newest titles. A link to that mailing list is here.

WHAT OTHER BOOKS HAVE YOU PUBLISHED?
Within the Dean Curse Chronicles I currently have three books for sale: Glimpse (book 1), Relic (book 2), and Impact (book 3). I also have book 1 of another series, DISRUPTION (THE CAMBRIDGE FILES: BOOK 1), which is geared for the same, and perhaps slightly older audience.


The eBook of Glimpse is currently FREE (until January 2015), and can be downloaded at virtually all online vendors. -- The print version is also available for purchase.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org