Sunday, July 24, 2016

Mystical Aria, Seeking the Gallion Queen, by Jean Neff Guthrie, earns the CLC Seal of Approval



Aria, a psychic preteen, has an incredible vision of another world. Using her tDiary (sort of a futuristic Ipad) she records her vision, as well as her desire to meet residents from that world.  To her surprise, her comment is responded to via communications through her tDiary, and eventually plans are made for Aria to visit the Gallions. The initial meeting of the two cultures does not go smoothly, but then Aria finally makes a pleasant connection with the Gallions only to find that her father has arrived on the scene while on an extraterrestrial  military mission.

Aria and her friends are given special gifts which allow them to interact with the universe in unique ways. Each child has a different gift with its own unique attributes.  There is a great moral to this story in which they must learn to overcome individual challenges on their own. The kids learn they are stronger and more capable than they had first believed.  A fabulous adventure, with elements of fantasy and science fiction, this book is sure to appeal to young readers.  The author's descriptions of the Gallion characters brings to life a charming, and entirely unique world. Her delightful sense of humor is shown in wonderfully imaginative scenes which add great depth to this terrific book for young readers.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tales of Byzantium: A Selection of Short Stories, by Eileen Stephenson, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



Tales of Byzantium: A Selection of Short Stories, by Eileen Stephenson, offers three short stories of war, love and conflict in the Byzantine era.  Book one tells of a young girl whose rightful position on the throne is usurped by her father who desires the throne for one of his sons. Helena had been betrothed as an infant to her scholarly husband. It was a marriage in name only until Helena decides she will no longer be overlooked.

Book two concerns a commander of military forces who is sent to save a town about to be under siege. The men under his command are nowhere near sufficient to handle the enemy's onslaught. Comnenus devises a very creative plan to outsmart the enemy, which allows him and his men to abandon the city (which is now without food and supplies) and travel home safely.

In the third book, Anna Comnena is consigned to a convent (royal speak for imprisoned at a convent). To occupy her mind she documents the history of her beloved father. Her tales remain critical to historians, providing valuable information on Byzantium to this day.

All three stories are told in a pleasant, matter-of-fact manner --likened to how a parent might explain complex history to their child. Horror, death, betrayal and deceit are explained simply and factually. This book offers a unique perspective on a fascinating era.  This is the way history lessons should be taught. The stories are based on fact, yet are marvelously complex and enjoyable. Eileen Stephenson regales readers with delightful story telling. Anyone with an interest in ancient history will ravenously devour these tales.  With only three short stories, this collection leaves the reader wanting for more.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, July 21, 2016

Author Jackie Minniti on Her Award Winning Title, Jacqueline


WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?
I’ve dreamed of being a writer for as long as I can remember. When I was a child, most of my friends idolized actors and singers, but I always admired writers and wanted to be one of them. As a kid, I “published” a little handwritten newspaper using carbon paper (truly old school!) that I sold for a nickel. I began writing stories in elementary school. In high school, I dabbled in poetry and was on the staff of the literary magazine. I minored in English in college and concentrated more on journalism after I graduated. But I never really had the time to pursue writing seriously until I retired and my kids were grown. I’m so blessed to have finally had my childhood dream come true!
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?
Jacqueline was inspired by an experience my dad had while stationed in Rennes, France with the 127th General Hospital shortly after D-Day. A little girl named Jacqueline, who lived near the barracks, began following him to and from the military hospital where he worked as a pharmacist. A beautiful friendship blossomed, and when the 127th was transferred to another city, my father promised her that if he ever had a daughter, he would name her Jacqueline. This was the only war story Dad was willing to share, and it became part of our family lore.
WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE LINE FROM YOUR AWARD WINNING BOOK AND WHY? 
My favorite line is from the epilogue when a grown-up Jacqueline is reminiscing with Bernardo about the people they knew in Rennes during the war. Bernardo says, “We must never forget what they sacrificed to give us the world we enjoy today. Some, like your father, gave all, but all gave some.” This is one of the core concepts I want young readers to take from the story.
WHICH OF YOUR CHARACTERS FROM YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE DO YOU BELIEVE ARE MOST LIKE YOU AND WHY? 
I like to think there’s some of me in Jacqueline. We share a certain feisty quality, and we’re both a little stubborn. We want to do things our own way, and we’re both animal lovers. But I think she’s a lot braver than I’d be if I were in her situation. The thought of being in a dark cellar with bombs falling overhead terrifies me!
WHAT MESSAGE DO YOU HOPE READERS WILL GLEAN FROM YOUR AWARD WINNING BOOK? 
One of my primary reasons for writing Jacqueline was to help young readers learn about the sacrifices made by the veterans of the Greatest Generation to safeguard the freedoms they now enjoy. With the emphasis on “social studies,” history has taken a back seat. I believe that those who don’t learn from history are doomed to repeat it, so I hope Jacqueline will help keep that from happening. I also wanted young readers to get a feel for what life is like in a country where freedom is limited by an overarching government. Maybe it will help them appreciate how fortunate they are to live in America.
TELL US SOMETHING INTERESTING ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER: 
When I was in the process of submitting Jacqueline to publishers, I became very discouraged.After many rejections and a few near misses, I finally decided to let go and let God. Soon after that, I got the call from Anaiah Press offering me a contract. I was over the moon! I began researching Anaiah and was curious about the name. I discovered that Anaiah is Hebrew for “God answers.” That really gave me goosebumps. 
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE? 
I can’t narrow it down to just one, but I admire Stephen King’s mastery of story, J.R.R. Tolkien’s ability to create a sense of place, Ray Bradbury’s use of figurative language and Maeve Binchy’s warm, memorable characters. I like to think my writing has been influenced by all of them, but I think writers are influenced on some level by every book (good or bad) that they read.
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE? 
Ray Bradbury’s Dandelion Wine. It’s a beautiful little coming-of-age story set in a kinder, gentler time. I first read it in middle school, and I fell in love. It was the first book that truly transported me to a different place. It was magical, and I wanted to create that kind of magic. I adored Bradbury’s lush, descriptive writing and started writing short stories in the Bradbury style. I reread Dandelion Wine every few years, and the story never gets old. Depending on where I am in my life, I see it in a new light.
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT? 
Even though Jacqueline is my second novel, I consider it my greatest literary accomplishment. It’s my first traditionally published book, and that means a lot to me. And since this was a story my dad had been asking me to write for years, putting the book in his hands on his 99th birthday was one of the proudest moments of my life. He passed away 7 months later, and I’m so grateful that he had a chance to read it and I have that moment to remember.
DO YOU HAVE ANY WRITING RITUALS? 
It's not really a ritual, but I’m NOT a morning person, so I get my best writing done in the evening when everyone’s asleep (including our macaws) and the house is quiet. This seems to be the opposite of what most writers do.
HOW DID YOU GET PUBLISHED?  
Since Jacqueline’s faith was an important part of her life and a subtext of the story, I decided to submit to faith-based and Christian publishers. I got a few nibbles, but when Anaiah finally offered me a contract, I knew Jacqueline had found the perfect home. My experience with them has been wonderful!
WHAT DID YOU DO TO CELEBRATE THE PUBLISH DATE OF YOUR AWARD WINNING BOOK? 
On the day Jacqueline was published, I received a gorgeous floral arrangement from my children and grandkids. That evening, my husband took me to my favorite restaurant for dinner with some close friends, and we toasted the event with champagne.
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS? 
It took a full, grueling year of query letters, rejections, and near misses before I landed the contract with Anaiah. When I was going through the submission process, I’d often get discouraged and wonder why I was putting myself through this instead of walking on the beach. But it was worth all the frustration and stress to finally hold that published book in my hands. So don’t give up. Keep writing. Develop a thick skin, believe in yourself, and someday you’ll get there too.
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK? 
Never underestimate the power of social media. I spend a lot of time on the computer promoting both my books. It also helps to have a good publicist. Someone with contacts can open doors that you never knew were there.
IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU'D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS? 
Not many people know that the soldier on the cover of Jacqueline is my father, and the little girl is the real Jacqueline. Since we were unable to locate her to obtain permission to use her likeness, the cover artist photoshopped her face out and replaced it with mine from a photo taken when I was Jacqueline’s age. So the cover has a special meaning for me.


WHAT OTHER BOOKS HAVE YOU PUBLISHED? 
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS? 
I’m toying with the idea of a middle grade historical fiction set in Boston during the Revolutionary War. It’s currently in the planning phase. I’ve done some research, and have a very rough outline and some ideas for characters. I’ve been playing with several plot lines but that’s about as far as it’s gone. I plan to visit Boston to do more research. I’m hoping that will give me the inspiration I need to start writing.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Author Spotlight - Wolfgang Parker on his award winning book



WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?
About ten years ago. I got a story in my head and I knew I had to tell it.
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP?
An illustrator or Darth Vader. They seemed pretty comparable then. I chose Darth Vader after high school, but then the prequels happened and well, here I am.
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?
Missing was originally written as a Christmas gift for my nineteen nieces and nephews as a way for me to be in their lives without geographically being there.


WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE LINE FROM YOUR AWARD WINNING BOOK AND WHY?
"Now is the time to change your tomorrow." I chose that line because it has taken me years of work and personal growth to finally be able to live in the moment. Living in the future is a waste of the present and will usually lead to a much dimmer reality when that future finally arrives. Focusing my energy on whatever is immediately in front of me has allowed me to live a richer and more rewarding life. I mean, I won an award. Something's working, right?
WHICH OF YOUR CHARACTERS FROM YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE DO YOU BELIEVE ARE MOST LIKE YOU AND WHY?
He's a surprise for the reader, so I cannot say here. But if you read the book, you'll know when you meet him.
WHAT MESSAGE DO YOU HOPE READERS WILL GLEAN FROM YOUR AWARD WINNING BOOK? Many things, but mostly I hope Crime Cats books help readers develop a sense of empathy. The world is in dire need of it.
WHAT OTHER BOOKS HAVE YOU PUBLISHED? 
TELL US SOMETHING FUNNY ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER: 
I meet a lot of readers who are convinced I am a werewolf. I am blessed with a very astute readership.
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE? 
John Bellairs. His Lewis Barnavelt series left a deep impression on me. It's a shame his books aren't more widely read. 
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE? 
The ChocolateWar by Robert Cormier. 
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT? 
Beginning and finishing three novels. 
DO YOU HAVE ANY WRITING RITUALS? 
I'm superstitious about many things (Lycanthropy, remember), but writing isn't one of them.
HOW DID YOU GET PUBLISHED? I self-publish. Agents hate werewolves. 
WHAT DID YOU DO TO CELEBRATE THE COMPLETION OF YOUR AWARD WINNING BOOK? 
Pizza. It's always pizza.
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS? 
Beginning isn't enough. Only a finished work can be published. Don't wait around to be inspired. 
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK? 
Be nice and be persistent. 
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS? 
I'll be working on the fourth volume of the Crime Cats series later this year, so it should come out in 2017. It will be available on Amazon and at one of the many book signings I'll be doing next year.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Hey, That's My Monster, by Amanda Noll, earns the CLC Seal of Approval


When a young boy looks under his bed for his monster named Gabe, he instead finds a note stating another kid needs him more and he's "gotta go."  The boy is not at all happy with this new development and is quite certain no-one could need Gabe more than he does.  So he sets off in search of his monster.  It doesn't take him long to realize that Gabe has moved next door and is hiding under his baby sister's bed.  He must act quickly if he is to get Gabe back to his own bedroom where he belongs.

Hey, That's My Monster, by Amanda Noll, is a wonderfully creative and entirely fun book that children and adults will love to read.  Illustrations by Howard McWilliam are an absolute treasure and further enhance this whimsical children's picture book.  Recommended for home and school libraries, Hey, That's My Monster, has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, July 5, 2016

Lucy in Her Secret Wood, by Christina M. Pagés, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



You know the sort of book that is so absorbing, so entirely enchanting, you wish it would never end?  -- The type of book that has you crying at the finish just because it's over?  That's what we experienced as we read Lucy in Her Secret Wood.  

Lucy is a young girl who has had a very troubled childhood.  At eight years of age she's spent most of her young life locked up in a small room with no exposure to the outside world.  But when her step-father decides he's had enough of her, he takes her out to the forest where he abandons her for good.  Lucy finds incredible joy in the forest where she develops a unique connection with all the elements there.  The trees, the brook, and even the animals are her companions.  Lucy soon befriends a young boy who agrees to tell no-one about her secret home and even brings her food and some essentials to help her survive.

Inspired by Wordsworth's wild child, Lucy Gray, this book is every bit as lovely and entirely inspired.  Readers of all ages will find themselves drawn to Lucy and her magical wood.  Her ability to mimic the sounds of the forest in the music she creates feels hauntingly reminiscent of Jill Paton Walsh's Matthew and the Sea Singer, yet Lucy's tale is altogether unique and absolutely lovely.  Filled with many magical moments and scattered throughout with wonderful life-lessons, this book is highly recommended for home and school libraries.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Friday, July 1, 2016

Author Spotlight - Kate Larkinson on her award winning book, Little Bird Lost



WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?
Like many people, I think I've always wanted to write a book. I used to love writing stories and poems when I was at school, but the responsibilities of adulthood and the more specialized studying involved in higher education sadly meant that all fell by the wayside as I got older. I was inspired to write again creatively when my husband Steve captured a series of amazing photos quite by chance, and we both felt compelled to share them as a children's story.
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP?
As soon as I was old enough to have my own library ticket I began playing at lending my books to my brothers and sisters, and luckily they humored me most of the time! In my early teens I started helping out in the public library for real and soon found that I was able to help readers find the subjects they were looking for. I loved helping in that way and being surrounded by all that knowledge, so after I left school I continued studying while I was working and later raising a family. I studied part-time for A Levels, then the professional librarianship exams and finally a BSc in Computer Science. I thoroughly enjoyed working in some wonderful libraries throughout my career, including the Independent Broadcasting Authority, Watford Public Library and the University of Westminster, so I'm pretty certain that was the right career for me.
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?
The extraordinary series of bird's-eye-view photos that Steve took of a young family of swallows in their nest inspired the idea. The baby birds were being very greedy and bullying their weaker sibling, hiding him in the back of the nest. Luckily the parents somehow realized that one of the baby birds was missing and then managed to rescue him. By the time I had a chance to sort through the photos and match the words to them our eldest grandchild was 3, so I aimed the story at the 3-5 age group. By the time the book was published he was 5, so it all fell into place at just the right time.
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE?
I think probably Mike McClintock, who wrote A Fly Went By. This was my most favorite book as a child and I can still recite quite a lot of it over 50 years on! I loved the rhyme and rhythm of it and I always selected rhyming books to read to my own children when I got the choice. Besides being satisfying to read, I think rhyme helps beginner readers a lot because it gives them clues to the sounds of the words coming up.
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?
Well I think that has to be winning a Literary Classics Gold Award winning book. It has definitely helped to make our book more visible among the many millions of books published each year. We feel deeply honored to receive this huge vote of confidence from an organization comprised of professionals in the publishing industry that helps promote excellence in children's literature.
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?
Being the impatient type, and having grandchildren who were just the right age for the book, I abandoned the search for a publisher and self-published our book through Amazon. While I'd love to find a publisher who could produce a hardback edition at a viable cost, it has been awesome seeing our book being circulated in paperback and eBook editions. Although it's technically relatively easy to self-publish a book nowadays it's still just as hard to edit the entire contents, and it's important not to rush this step and to have as many people as possible read your work before you publish it. It's very easy to miss quite glaring errors in your own work, and other readers can sometimes offer very helpful suggestions that you may not have thought of.
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK?
Start as early as possible, preferably before you publish your book, like I wish I had! Create author profiles on Goodreads, LibraryThing, Twitter and Facebook to link up with readers and other authors. Offer Giveaways of signed books and free promos on eBooks. Submit your book to Literary Classics for review. Always have a business card with a picture of your book on hand, and never give up!

DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?:
Yes! I'm super-excited about a new project that I've just started working on! It's a mystery and adventure series aimed at ages 9-11. It's in the very early stages but I'm planning to have several books finished by the time that two of our granddaughters reach the age of 9, in three years time. They will be my first beta readers.
IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU'D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS?
If it all seems a bit daunting, just focus on one small step at a time and enjoy the journey. It's incredible how far you can get that way!

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, June 30, 2016

2016 LITERARY CLASSICS BOOK AWARDS ANNOUNCED


NEWS
Release Date: July 1, 2016

Literary Classics
pr@clcawards.org

Literary Classics Announces Youth Media Top Book Award Recipients

Rapid City, SD - One of the most anticipated moments in the world of children’s and young adult literature has arrived. The 2016 Literary Classics Book Awards have been announced. Chosen out of entries submitted from around the globe, these distinguished honorees are recognized for their contributions to the craft of writing, illustrating, and publishing exceptional literature for a youth audience. In this highly competitive industry these books represent the best of the best.
The competition this year was steep, and we congratulate all of the finalists for their tremendous and inspiring work. To follow are the final award categories and levels. All silver, gold and Top Honors award recipients will be invited to attend a round-table discussion, awards ceremony, formal gala, and authors’ book signing in Las Vegas October 13 through 15, 2016. 


TOP HONORS BOOK AWARDS

The Enchanted Page Book Award
A Peacock among Pigeons  
Written by Tyler Curry  
Illustrated by Mascot Publishing

The Eloquent Quill Book Award
Foulsham  
Written and illustrated by Edward Carey  
The Overlook Press

Words on Wings Book Award
Grendel’s Mother  
Susan Signe Morrison  
Top Hat Books/ John Hunt Publishing

Lumen Award for Literary Excellence
I would, but my DAMN MIND won’t let me  
Jacqui Letran  
A Healed Mind



YOUNG AUTHOR AWARD

(Published and penned by an author under 21 years of age):
GOLD
Eventyr  
Ellias Quinn
Second March, LLC

SILVER
The Rain of Blood
Sahana Kumar  
Telemachus Press



BEST IN CATEGORY – GOLD

Best Illustrator
Annie’s Plaid Shirt  
Written by Stacy Davids  
Illustrated by Rachel Balsaitis
Upswing Press

Best First Picture Book
Are You Eating My Lunch? Manges-tu mon lunch?  
Written by Nicole Audet  
Illustrated by Kathy Kerber
AuthorHouse

Best First Middle Grade Novel
The Improbable Wonders of Moojie Littleman  
Robin Gregory  
Mad Mystical Journey Press

Best First Novel
Kingdoms Fall  
Edward Parr  

Best Short Story
The Darkness  
Justine Avery  




SPECIAL INTEREST - GOLD 

Cultural Issues
Second Chances  
Lincoln Cole  
LC Publishing

Environmental Issues
KABOOM!  
Brian Adams  
Green Writers Press
                                                 
Faith Based Early Reader
The Veterans’ Clubhouse  
Written by Kristen Zajac  
Illustrated by Jennifer Thomas Houdeshell
Guardian Angel Publishing

​Gender Specific - Female Audience
Certainly Sensible
Pamela Woods-Jackson  
The Wild Rose Press
READ OUR REVIEW    

Historical Fiction
Jacqueline
Jackie Minniti  
Anaiah Press

​Historical Nonfiction 
Aunt Phil’s Trunk  
Laurel Downing Bill  
Aunt Phil’s Trunk LLC

Instructional
Little Music Masters, Meet the Notes  
Written by Elias Berlinger  
Illustrated by Maryana Kachmar
My Music Workshop

​Nonfiction Series
Aunt Phil’s Trunk  
Laurel Downing Bill  
Aunt Phil’s Trunk LLC
READ OUR REVIEW     




GENERAL CATEGORIES – GOLD

General Preschool
Ice Dream’s Wish  
Written by Nasrin Mottahadeh  
Illustrated by Mehri Dadgar
Nasrin Mottahadeh

Picture Book / Preschool
Daniel and His Starry Night Blanket  
Written and illustrated by Sally Loughridge  
Maine Authors Publishing​

Picture Book Early Reader
The Growing Sweater  
Written by Jason Marchi  
Illustrated by Ben Quesnel
Fahrenheit Books

Rhyme Book Early Reader
The Stumps of Flattop Hill  
Written and illustrated by Kenneth Kit Lamug  
One Peace Books

Cultural Issues Early Reader
A Peacock among Pigeons
Written by Tyler Curry  
Illustrated by Clarione Gutierrez
Mascot Publishing

Educational Early Reader
Are You Eating My Lunch? Manges-tu mon lunch?  
Written by Nicole Audet  
Illustrated by Kathy Kerber
AuthorHouse

Inspirational / Visionary Early Reader
A Peacock among Pigeons  
Written by Tyler Curry  
Illustrated by Clarione Gutierrez
Mascot Publishing

General Early Reader
Avian Kingdom Feathered Tales
Neither Night nor Day
Written by Karen Chacek  
TechStudios, LLC

Self Esteem Early Reader
My Wish for You  
Written and illustrated by 
Nicole Henning  
Anima Readers Publishing

Chapter Book
Posie Pixie and the Fireworks Party
Written by Sarah Hill 
Abela Publishing

Children’s Series
Avian Kingdom Feathered Tales  
Written by Karen Chacek  
TechStudios, LLC

General Preteen
Greg’s First Adventure in Time  
C.M. Huddleston  
Interpreting Time’s Past, LLC

Fantasy Preteen
The Improbable Wonders of Moojie Littleman  
Robin Gregory  
Mad Mystical Journey Press

Mystery Preteen
The Ghosts of Pebble Brook Lodge  
Linda Covella  
Beau Coup Publishing

Fiction Preteen
The Cemetery Sleeper  
Susan Griner  
Saguaro Books

Fiction Teen
Cryptogram Chaos, a Virtual Reality Adventure  
Linda Covella  
Linda Covella

General YA
In the Heart of a Mustang  
M.J. Evans  
Dancing Horse Press

Fantasy Fiction YA
Ptaath’s Hammer  
Wim Baren  
Self-published

Science Fiction YA
Reset  
William Jones  
Self Published

Mystery YA
Don’t Forget To Breathe  
Cathrina Constantine  
Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly

Fiction YA
Trinity Icon  
Steve Wilson  
White Feather Press
READ OUR REVIEW      

Series YA
The Gateway Chronicles  
K. B. Hoyle  
The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House

Historical Fiction YA
Kingdoms Fall  
Edward Parr  
Edward Parr

Faith Based YA
Trinity Icon
Steve Wilson  
White Feather Press

Nonfiction YA
I would, but my DAMN MIND won’t let me
Jacqui Letran  
A Healed Mind

​Health / Self Esteem
Navigating Your Cancer Journey  
Jennifer Thietz  
Dog Ear Publishing




GENERAL CATEGORIES – SILVER

General Preschool
“Guess Who, Mr. Dinosaur?”  
Written by Christopher Smith  
Illustrated by Brandon Frazier and Mike Motz
Create Space

Picture Book / Preschool
White Butterfly and Her Wings of Many Colors  
Story by Arnold Bustillo  
Written and illustrated by Susan Andra Lion
Mariposa Blanca Publishing​

Picture Book Early Reader
The Reading Promise  
Written by Troy Kent  
Illustrated by Elisa Moriconi
Mascot Books
READ OUR REVIEW    

Rhyme Book Early Reader
The Golden Rule  
Written by Sherrill Cannon  
Illustrated by Kalpart
SBPRA

Cultural Issues Early Reader 
What’s for Dinner?  
Written by Penelope Anne Cole 
Illustrated by Samantha S. Bell
Magical Book Works
READ OUR REVIEW    

Educational Early Reader
Strike at Charles’ Farm/Grève à la ferme de Charles  
Written by Nicole Audet 
Illustrated by Mylène Villenueve 
AuthorHouse

Inspirational / Visionary E.R.
Destiny  
Written by Sonya Wadhera and Priya Wadhera  
Double Infinity International Incorporated

General Early Reader
Avian Kingdom Feathered Tales 
The Hollow in the Hill 
Written by Karen Chacek  
TechStudios, LLC​

Self Esteem Early Reader
Red Socks Go With Absolutely Anything  
Written by Darla Woodley  
Illustrated by Evan Munday
SonShine Design (Self Published)
READ OUR REVIEW    

Chapter Book
Topaz and the Green Fairies  
Written by Pat Frayne  
Create Space

Children’s Series
Penny the Palomino Quarter Horse 
Written by Gary Scogin  
I llustrated by Alex Ray
Sarah Book Publishing

General Preteen
Star Sapphire and the Land of Gems 
Anthony Pardoe  
Anthony and Suzanne Pardoe

Fantasy Preteen
Dotty and the Calendar House Key 
Emma Warner-Reed  
Createspace/Smashwords

Mystery Preteen
Crime Cats: Missing  
Wolfgang Parker  
Rogue Agent Publishing
READ OUR REVIEW       

Fiction Preteen
A Place to Call Home: Toby’s Tale 
Gail Whitmore  
Outskirts Press

Fiction Teen
Under a Purple Moon  
Beverly Stowe McClure  
Freedom Fox Press
READ OUR REVIEW

General YA
A Secret Music
Susan Doherty Hannaford  
Cormorant Books

Fantasy Fiction YA
Select  
Patricia Reding  
CreateSpace
READ OUR REVIEW    

Science Fiction YA
Tallas  
Cathrina Constantine  
Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly
READ OUR REVIEW            

Mystery YA
Fiona Frost: Blood Dolls  
Bon Blossman  
Create Space

Fiction YA
Tempest of Fire  
Steve Wilson  
White Feather Press

Historical Fiction
A Long Way Back  
James Prewitt  
Northland Publishing Co

Faith Based
Seventh Dimension - The City  
Lorilyn Roberts  
CreateSpace

Nonfiction YA
A Cluster of Cancers  
Sherry L. Meinberg  

Health / Self Esteem
A Cluster of Cancers
Sherry L. Meinberg  
AuthorHouse

The 2016 Literary Classics book award recipients will be recognized during an awards presentation to be held October 14, 2016 in Las Vegas, Nevada.  A complete list, including links to Literary Classics' reviews of all award winning books, may be found at clcawards.org.

Literary Classics, an organization dedicated to furthering excellence in literature, takes great pride in its role to help promote classic literature which appeals to youth, while educating and encouraging positive values in the impressionable young minds of future generations.  Judging is based upon the criteria set forth by Literary Classics’ highly selective awards committee which honors books promoting character, vision, creativity and learning, through content which possesses key elements found in well-crafted literature.

The Literary Classics judging committee is comprised of experts with backgrounds in publishing, writing, editing, design, illustration, and book reviewing.   To learn more about Literary Classics, visit their website at www.literaryclassicsawards.com.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org