Thursday, February 4, 2016

The Reading Promise, by Troy Kent, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


The Reading Promise is the heartwarming story of a young mother and her son, Daniel.  When Daniel is just a baby, his mother doesn't have much money.  She worries about being a good mother, then soon decides to make her son a promise.  She realizes books at the library are free.  There might not be much she can do for her son from a monetary standpoint, but she can read to him.  So while he is just a baby, she vows to read to him every night.  As Daniel grows up, he and his mother find countless ways to experience the world through books.

Written by Troy Kent and illustrated by Elisa Moriconi, The Reading Promise is simply wonderful. Vaguely reminiscent of Robert Munsch's Love You Forever, this children's picture book is sure to tug at your heartstrings.  Highly recommended for home and school libraries, The Reading Promise earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

White Butterfly and Her Wings of Many Colors earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


White Butterfly and Her Wings of Many Colors, written and illustrated by Susan Andra Lion, is a lovely children's picture book inspired by the late Arnold Bustillo.  The book tells the story of a butterfly known for her kindness and willingness to help wherever and whenever needed.  Fast as lightning and valiantly heroic, there is only one thing White Butterfly wants for in life; more than anything she wishes she had brilliantly colorful wings.  But Lady Fairy wants to ensure White Butterfly's motives are pure.

This tale provides a message of self-acceptance and humility for youngsters. Wonderfully illustrated, with words that are beautifully penned, this book provides pearls of wisdom for young readers that are lovingly nestled within the folds of a delightful story.  This is a book which children are sure to enjoy reading again and again.

White Butterfly and Her Wings of Many Colors, is recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Redemption, by Jessica Therrien, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


In Redemption, (Book 3 of the Children of the Gods series) Elyse lives to fulfill the prophecy linked to her. Now that Christoph is out of the picture the Descendants are free to reveal their true identities. But some humans simply aren’t ready to accept the Descendants, and war ensues.  Chaos becomes the norm where even friends cannot be trusted, families are torn apart, and cities are destroyed. But Elyse strives to bring peace and harmony to a world that is groaning under the strain of so much change and confusion.

The Children of the Gods trilogy is an exciting collection of young adult fantasy fiction.  Readers are sure to get swept away in this fantastic series.  To get the full impact and understanding of the story, one really must read all the books in this series beginning with Oppression.  There are multiple sub-stories woven throughout, leading to a fabulous and unexpected ending.

The Children of the Gods trilogy is highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Uprising, by Jessica Therrien, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


In book two of the Children of the Gods series we see Elyse’s character developing as she grows into her role as leader of the descendants.  Elyse is the one foretold to save the descendants from centuries of oppression, and according to prophecy she will have a baby who will become the new oracle. But the Council, under the control of Christoph, wants the baby in order to maintain rule.  Elyse begins to have prophetic nightmares and must make some difficult decisions and life-altering sacrifices for the good of the descendants.

Uprising is an exciting page-turner which grabs the reader from the beginning and never lets up. There are enough plot twists to keep readers sufficiently engaged throughout. About the time you think you’ve figured out what’s going to happen, in comes another mind-blowing turn of events.

Author Jessica Therrien artfully depicts scenes and events throughout the book; in her description of the descendant’s annual celebration one can nearly smell the blossoms on the trees and hear the beating of the drums. This is an exhilarating read that will have your heart beating with anticipation. 


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Monday, February 1, 2016

Oppression, Children of the Gods, by Jessica Therrien, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Elyse looks eighteen even though she's nearly 90 years old.  She also possesses the ability to heal people.  One might find these traits to be enviable, but Elyse knows first-hand the price that comes with such power. So when she learns she’s a descendant of Greek gods and that she may hold the key to the fulfillment of a prophecy, it's not long before she realizes she may become a target.  

Author Jessica Therrien has crafted an exciting and unique twist on Greek mythology in her fantasy fiction novel, Oppression, Children of the Gods.  This book, the first in a series, is a captivating read and one which will appeal to fantasy fiction aficionados as well as fans of Greek mythology.  Therrien skillfully draws readers into this intricately woven tale which offers a fast-paced adventure paralleled with a touching love story.  Sometimes violent, often tender, this book is sure to keep readers enthralled; and they will certainly look forward to the next installment in the Children of the Gods series.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Saturday, January 30, 2016

Second Chances, by Lincoln Cole, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



Nichole is an underprivileged young Black American woman who aspires to become an attorney. Despite the many obstacles she must overcome to do so she is determined to succeed.  But with the odds already against her, she is hit with a hard blow when her mother goes missing.  Now, on top of her many other commitments, she finds herself caring for two younger siblings who are counting on her to make sure they are given every chance at a good life.   Nichole knows all too well that racial bias can sometimes dictate the outcome for families in situations such as her own.  Maintaining a cautious reserve she does her best to juggle her many responsibilities. Not knowing who to trust, she struggles to find a balance between muddling through on her own and learning to trust and accept help from others.

Lincoln Cole offers a heart-rending perspective into the struggles realized by those who are oppressed by prejudice and bias.  Cole addresses relevant concerns facing so many people today.  His book, Second Chances, brings the reality of such issues to light, helping readers observe that the opportunities many people take for granted may not come as easily to some.

 Second Chances, is recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Movie Review - Until Forever


Until Forever, a Gateway Films / Linn Productions movie, is based on the true story of  Michael Boyum, a young man diagnosed with a very aggressive form of Leukemia.  As Michael battles cancer, through faith and with fearless tenacity, his loved ones struggle with their own conflicts amid his illness.

Written and directed by Michael Linn, Until Forever is a testament to the power of faith within the shadows of adversity.  An impressive cast of actors, though relatively unknown, offer exceptional performances in this movie which is one not to be missed.  Of particular note, actors Madison Lawlor and Stephen Anthony Bailey deliver stellar portrayals of young people in love as they navigate the maze of human emotions encountered during Michael's diagnosis and subsequent treatment.  The cinematography, acting, directing and editing of this film are all quite superb, culminating in an outstanding film which can hold its own against any major motion picture in box offices today.

Until Forever is a compelling love story which incites laughter and tears, all the while resonating with an unyielding message of hope. This film is highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

Until Forever - Endorsed by the Dove Foundation and others

COMING SOON:

Feb. 12 - Rapid City, South Dakota
Feb. 12 - Pierre, South Dakota
Feb. 12 - Brookings, South Dakota
Feb. 12 - Oakdale, Minnesota
Feb. 19 - Huron, South Dakota
Feb. 19 - Mitchell, South Dakota
Feb. 19 - Del Rapids, South Dakota
March 2 - Philip, SD
Other theater dates and locations pending (SD, MN, WI)


Tickets available at:
http://www.fandango.com/search/?q=until%20forever

See more on Facebook:
www.facebook.com/untilforeverthemovie

And on the website:
www.untilforeverthemovie.com


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

A Long Way Back, by J. Everett Prewitt, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


A Long Way Back is the gripping tale of a group of Black American soldiers and one young man determined to bring their story to light.  When Anthony, a Washington Post news reporter sent to cover the war in Vietnam, witnesses the return of seven soldiers from a mission he senses a story.  The soldiers, bedraggled  and severely shell-shocked, are met with stunned silence.  It seems the other men at base camp seem shocked to learn the men made it back alive.  Anthony feels certain this is a story the Post would want him to cover, but he is refused the opportunity to speak to anyone. He hears hushed rumors of the men having been sent on an illegal mission to Cambodia; but under threat of court-martial, no one will divulge any information about the mission, or the fate of the others who never returned.

Author, J. Everett Prewitt’s vivid depiction of the horrors of war are compounded when intertwined with the racial injustices perpetrated upon the men whose story Anthony hopes to reveal.  A Long Way Back is a powerful and compelling novel.  Recommended for home and school libriaries, this book has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Monday, January 25, 2016

Author Spotlight - Ashley Hotter, on her award winning title "A Filly for Laura"



WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?:
I enjoyed writing poems in school and just for fun. I would write poems about all my friends and give them as gifts. It wasn’t until I started taking a writing class and wrote my first book that I really thought about being a writer. 
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP?
I wanted to be an Equine Veterinarian and move to Kentucky to work with race horses.
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?:
I was going through a point in my life when I really wanted to foster and adopt a child. My husband and I were going through the process of getting licensed and it inspired me to write A Filly for Laura.


TELL US SOMETHING RANDOM/INTERESTING/FUNNY ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER:
Something random; I spend a lot of time on the computer not actually writing when I say I am.
Something interesting; my search histories, I search a lot of interesting things on google to get all the information for my books.
Something funny; sometimes when I am writing I get so into character I make myself laugh when they should, or end up crying when they do. 
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?: Black Beauty, I love the strength portrayed. I love the way the author gets you to feel for Black Beauty, it really made my love of horses come alive. 
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?:
My greatest literary accomplishment would be getting my book published; it takes a lot of time and effort. 
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?:
The process can be long and tedious. You have to write cover letters to specifics of what an agent or publisher would like to see. Wait for that person to respond, which can take months. Then you usually have to send in a sample or pages from your book along with a summary. After that If you hear back again they request your manuscript. You go through multiple edits with another person after you have spent hours doing it yourself. My favorite part was the cover design and illustration process. There are so many steps that the process can take a year or more until your book actually hits the shelves
My advice is to never give up, keep sending your manuscript in to publishers and agents. You just have to find the right one for your book. 
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK?
Use the tools provided to you Google plus, blogs, reviews, Facebook, twitter, hashtags. Have your friends and family share your book with their friends, Share it, and get it out there. You can trade reviews with other authors. Do book signings at your local library or travel to other towns and cities to do book events. Don’t rely on your publisher to do everything. 
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?: 
I have many books I am working on currently, but none that are complete. 
Book one; bullying, magic, leprechauns, and curses. It is also about making new friends and being your own person.
Book two; magical kingdoms and portals to other worlds where the girls do the rescuing.
Book three; a newbie witch, monkeys as sidekicks, and snogs.
There are so many I have going, I am not just writing children’s book though. I have a couple of young adult ones in the works as well. Right now I do not know when any of my books will be complete. I just had a baby a couple months ago so my days and nights are filled with dirty diapers and snuggles. I write in my free time and try to keep up with my blog, my review page on Facebook, my author’s page, and twitter.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, January 14, 2016

Kingdoms Fall, by Edward Parr, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


In Edward Parr's Kingdoms Fall, we are reminded that politics is a complex mixture of good and nefarious activities, and that war exists for many unique reasons.  Parr's story begins with the assassination of Archduke Ferdinand and continues through to 1918 with the armistice.   If classroom history could be this good History would be the most popular subject.  Romance, murder, intrigue, fear, and uncertainty are woven into this compelling novel which is a fascinating read for history buffs as well as those who may find the subject of history to be a bit tiresome. 

This novel incorporates the well known Lawrence of Arabia, as well as fictionalized characters such as OO6 of the British Secret Service. Specific battle plans are dissected and revealed so non-historians can grasp the intricacies involved in even the simplest military endeavors. War in all its horror and gore is described in such detail one can nearly smell the cordite and mustard gas. 


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

I Would, But my Damn Mind Won't Let Me! earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



I Would, but My Damn Mind Won't Let Me!, by Jacqui Letran, is a book written to help young girls unlock the tools to overcome many of the mental hurdles which frequently present challenges for teens.  Letran helps readers understand how the mind can often send confusing (and sometimes detrimental) signals as a means of protecting one's-self from pain.   The author breaks down the root causes of many mental obstacles which can often seem insurmountable while providing solutions for long-term stability and happiness.  Topics such as fear and self-doubt are addressed in a way which is profound in its simplicity.  


While written for a young female audience, this book will appeal to readers of all ages and genders.  I Would, but My Damn Mind Won't Let Me! is highly recommended for home, school and public libraries and for use in clinical settings.  


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, December 17, 2015

Mercy's Prince, by Katy Huth Jones, earns the CLC Seal of Approval



Well written and surprisingly believable for a work of fantasy, Mercy’s Prince is a highly engaging tale which is difficult to put down.  When a young prince groomed to be ruler is killed in battle his scholarly younger brother, Valerian,  must fill the role.  After he becomes the crowned prince Valerian befriends a peasant girl who is a healer; he soon learns he can communicate with her telepathically.  To save his people Valerian attempts the impossible as he elicits the help of dragons to help save mankind.

This novel is replete with tales of royalty, magic, dragons, love, adventure, and life-and-death struggles.  This exciting work of fantasy fiction is suspenseful and well written. Mercy’s Prince is an entertaining venture into another world, a time of mystery, a time long gone.

The exciting adventures within the pages of this book offer escape to another world and an alternate way of life. Katy Huth Jones keeps things interesting with continuous twists and well developed and refreshingly unexpected characters.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Mama, How Does the Wind Start to Blow?, by Jeanne Styczinski, earns the CLC Seal of Approval


Mama, How Does the Wind Start to Blow?, by Jeanne Styczinski, is an oh-so-sweet book of numbers for young children.  When a child asks, "Mama, how does the wind start to blow?", a series of potential answers are posed one by one, counting up to the number ten.  Starting with the rising of the moon, and finishing with seeds falling from a flower, the numbers one through ten are represented in enchanting scenarios.

Author and illustrator, Jeanne Styczinski's simply sweet book of counting's crowning glory is the delightful illustrations which are sure to enthrall young readers.  This book is sure to become a favorite with young readers and is an excellent selection for home and school libraries.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Papa, Why Does the Sun Shine? earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Papa, Why Does the Sun Shine?, written and illustrated by Jeanne Styczinski, is a lovely counting book for children. When a young child asks Papa why the sun shines, each time posing a seemingly random theory, Papa responds, "no, that is not why the sun shines".  From one sleepy moon, to ten fish going to school, the queries continue, until Papa provides a simply charming response that is sure to melt the hearts of readers both young and old.

This is a book which children are sure to enjoy again and again as they learn their numbers.  Cheerful illustrations are perfectly paired with this happy little book of counting which is likely to be a favorite in home and school libraries as well as in classroom settings.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Monday, December 14, 2015

Don't Forget to Breathe by Cathrina Constantine, earns Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Don't Forget to Breathe is a chilling psychological  thriller about Leocadia, (Leo) a young girl whose mother was murdered in her own home.  Leo was still in the house when the murder took place, and as a result of the trauma she incurred that day, suffers from amnesia and recurring nightmares.  Her lifestyle is that of a troubled teen trying to escape the horrific realities which haunt her daily.  While struggling with the day-to-day issues of being a teen, she does her best to wade through the loss, fears and confusion of her mother's untimely and tragic death.

Author Cathrina Constantine has crafted a suspenseful book which will keep readers guessing from page one clear through to the climactic finish.  This is a multi-faceted novel which offers much to readers of all ages who are sure to be drawn into this gripping young adult mystery.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org