Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Sir Princess Petra's Talent, by Diane Mae Robinson, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


When Petra, a precocious young princess, earns her knighthood, her father the king is not at all pleased.  In order to prepare his daughter to one day become a suitable queen, he insists she attend talent school where she will learn to behave like a proper princess.

Armed with her quick wit, and a fierce determination, Princess Petra sets off to earn a talent.  As she journeys to talent school, traveling with her trusty dragon, Snarls, she acquires new friends along the way.  Together, Princess Petra's motley entourage makes enlightening discoveries and encounters merry adventures throughout their expedition.


Princess stereotypes are gloriously debunked in this book about a royal who dares to be herself. Princess Petra will charm and inspire youngsters as she fearlessly outwits those who would thwart her progress in achieving her own goals, all the while helping others realize their own dreams.  Author Diane Mae Robinson's second book in the Pen Pieyu Adventures is a delightful read and one that is sure to engage and enthrall young readers.  Sir Princess Petra's Talent is recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Tales of Mr. Snuggywhiskers - The Autumn Tales, by C.F. Crawford, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



When Hallie finds herself mysteriously shrunken and poised in front of a very small door hidden in a tree in her yard, she starts to doubt the plausibility of her unlikely situation.  But then, embracing the moment in her own magical story, she decides to explore what lies on the other side of the door. Thus begins the adventures of Hallie and her sister Cory as they enter the world of Mr. Snuggywhiskers, a talking mouse who wears a three piece suit and a tie.

C.F. Crawford, has penned an imaginative and engaging tale in which civilized mice engage in celebrations and enjoy travel as much as any human might.  Young readers will thrill in the adventures of Hallie and her sister as they discover an entirely unknown world hidden right in their own backyard.

Tales of Mr. Snuggywhiskers - The Autumn Tales, is recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Ten Little Tricksters, by Penelope Anne Cole, earns the CLC Seal of Approval


Ten Little Tricksters, by Penelope Anne Cole, is a cleverly bewitching children's picture book. Told in a toe-tapping tempo, while counting from ten to one, children are sure to love this whimsical Halloween themed book.  A variety of kooky zombies and ghouls enter the scene one page at a time as they introduce a new number.  Ten ghosties, nine goblins and so-on until one little pumpkin collects his Halloween treats.

Colorful and expressive illustrations, by Kevin Collier, are perfectly paired with this book that is likely to become a year-round favorite with youngsters.

Ten Little Tricksters comes highly recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Her Pink Hair, by Jill Dana, earns the CLC Seal of Approval



Her Pink Hair, written and illustrated by Jill Dana, is the story of a young girl whose friend, Stephanie, becomes sick.  At first Stephanie has long, wavy, brown hair.  But soon she has short brown hair . . . and eventually she has no hair at all.  When her hair grows back in, Stephanie's mom dyes it pink.

Her Pink Hair is a story that will help kids deal with illness and is a valuable tool for opening discussion about losing a loved one.  Her Pink Hair presents the concept of accepting loss in a way in which kids will be able to relate.  Author Jill Dana has addressed a tender subject with grace and charm.

Her Pink Hair is recommended for home and school libraries, clinical settings and any other areas where healing and acceptance are to be nurtured.  This book has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Chocolate Gravy on Dragon Creek earns the CLC Seal of Approval


Chocolate Gravy on Dragon Creek is the enchanting tale of Tootsy, a young girl growing up in the woods alongside a bubbling creek.  Tootsy is an inquisitive child who loves to play and explore along the banks of the creek.  As an only child, her parents dote upon her, frequently indulging her cravings for chocolate gravy, which is her favorite.

Tootsy and her friends have heard tales of the dragon which has held a young girl captive in his cave below the creek's whirling water hole for many years.  Despite the rumors, the "smart aleck" boys build a secret hideout nearby and Tootsy and her friends Cindy and Lindy decide to meet the boys there to act out a game of knights and princesses.  -But everything changes when Tootsy is pulled down into the whirling hole of the dragon's lair.

Author Doretta Elaine Wilson has crafted a story that will engage young readers as they play  and explore along with Tootsy.  Tootsy's sweet-natured, precocious tendencies will charm and delight readers as they discover life through the eyes of this delightful character.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Monday, February 23, 2015

A Story of Becoming, by Ayn Cates Sullivan, Ph.D. earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



A young seed germinates in the forest before unfurling and finding her way through the rich dark soil of the earth.  As she becomes a young seedling she stretches toward the sunlight, wondering what she will someday become.  Nourished by the dewdrops she grows in anticipation of the possibilities hidden within her.

While still very small, some of her leaves and branches are eaten by animals.  Despite the set-back, she grows and matures until one day she discovers her purpose . . . she is an apple tree.  She delights in being an apple tree; but over time she continues to encounter hardships, some of which are seemingly insurmountable.
A Story of Becoming, by Ayn Cates Sullivan, Ph.D. is a beautiful tale that will resonate with readers young and old.  This is a story which speaks on many levels to the hearts of readers who will relate to the hopes, fears and dreams of the apple tree as she struggles to survive and fulfill her purpose.  Exquisite illustrations provide the perfect backdrop for the words penned in this lovely book which is sure to become a favorite among readers of all ages.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Naji and the Mystery of the Dig earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



Naji and the Mystery of the Dig is the highly engaging tale of a day in the life of  Naji, an eight year old girl growing up in Persia during the 1940s.  One morning Naji is awakened by the sound of men working out in her family's courtyard.  As she soon learns, it has been over thirty years since their family built its first septic tank and now it is time for a new one.  The men are working on its replacement as they dig a hole deep in the earth using pick axes and shovels.

Naji has an overwhelming sense that something is lurking below the surface of the dig.  Her childlike curiosity nearly consumes her with a need to peer down inside.  As the day progresses the hole becomes deeper and deeper as she tries to persuade her family to allow her to peek into the mysterious hole.  A sense of urgency overwhelms her as she realizes she must persuade her father to let her have a look soon before the opening is covered back up.  The longer Naji must wait to satisfy her curiosity, the more her imagination fuels the wildly creative scenarios she has conjured up in her mind.

As Naji's story progresses, readers are introduced to Naji's world, a place steeped in a rich and colorful history filled with lovely customs and traditions.  Unfamiliar words and phrases are highlighted in italics indicating that a definition has been provided at the back of the book.  Each definition goes into detail offering an interesting bit of background which further enhances the interest and educational value of this enticing book.

Author Vahid Imani has crafted a book which is sure to hold the interest of young readers while offering a rare and enchanting glimpse into the fascinating culture of Persia in the 1940s.  This book comes highly recommended for classrooms and school and home libraries.  Naji and the Mystery of the Dig has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.





LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Friday, February 20, 2015

Author, Braxton Cosby, on his award winning title Protostar



WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?
A calling from God. He told me to write my first novel Protostar and I stepped out on faith that what I was hearing was actually God and not some voice of my own imagination. Now, with The Sect coming back out and re-boot of Protostar becoming a huge success, I love it.
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP?
I really wanted to be an astronaut. I thought the idea of space travel was fascinating. Now, as I’ve gotten older and more cynical, the thought of traveling into space at those ridiculous speeds has become less attractive. 
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?
I wanted to give people – young people in particular – the gift of learning to love people outside of circumstances. The two main protagonists of Protostar are caught up in this Star-Crossed love where it feels as though the galaxy itself is trying to tear them apart. The question or choice to love in spite of that becomes heavier as their relationship blossoms through the series and they must stand by their decisions. The ideal of accountability becomes more crucial-- something that is missing in our world today. With ‘What Will You Choose…Love or Duty?’ being the tag line. 
TELL US SOMETHING OUR READERS MIGHT FIND INTERESTING ABOUT YOU:
I consider myself a Born-Again Christian and I value the importance of a spiritual connection with God rather than joining with religious practices. Also, my Uncle Is the legendary comedian Bill Cosby.
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE?
I love Casandra Claire and Suzanne Collins. I write from both a close third person (Protostar) and first person (My Life In Story and The Sect) and I definitely look to their skill of balancing the voices of the characters throughout their stories. 
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?
The Bible. The greatest stories have come from it and the inspiration for creating is birthed from it. 
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?
Finally getting my book (Protostar) transcribed into a screenplay. Now, everything else about getting it to the big screen is that much easier. 
WHAT OTHER BOOKS HAVE YOU PUBLISHED?
The Sect: The Windgate – coming soon
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?
I tell aspiring authors all the time that they must create a story that they love first. Then, the passion for the story will flow and people who read it will fall in love with it. 
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK?
Social media has been critical for my success and getting the word out. It is still an uphill challenge for me. Even the most popular authors still don’t get the traction they should just because they don’t have the reach or exposure. 
IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU'D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS?Please come over to my website and learn about me @ www.braxtoncosby.com. There, you will find out about me and all the projects I am working on. You’ll also find links to my book websites. 
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?
The School of Ministry: The Windgate, a CLC Book Award recipient (Faith-Based YA), is being rebooted as well. The new title is The Sect: The Windgate. I trimmed it down a little bit and made it a much faster and engaging read.
Also, next year I will publish my first Hero novel in association with two other authors under Cosby Media Productions. You can also look for the Sci-fi book based on the upcoming movie, Matt Mercury with Bill Hughes (formerly the creative designer behind the Star Wars series). 
The Sect will be out on eBook in December and the novella Evans’Heart will also be available. They will be available everywhere that eBooks can be sold.
DO YOU HAVE ANY ADVICE FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?
Yes. Find a vision, write it down. Pray on it, believe in it, and make it real. Don’t use excuses about why you never got started. Pick up the pen, keyboard, whatever and get it done. Make a story that you love first, and then shop it around.
CAN YOU OFFER ANY TIPS ON GETTING PUBLISHED?
Don’t be afraid to pay for a professional editing service of your work. It will pay huge dividends in the end if done properly. As a writer, you just can’t catch every mistake. You need someone to look at it and tell you what parts stink and need to be taken out. Stripping that manuscript down and putting out the best product is essential.
LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Author Spotlight - Vivian Zabel, on her award winning picture book, I Like Pink



Author Vivian Zabel 



on her Award Winning title I Like Pink

WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER?
I always told stories to my friends and siblings. The first time I shared my desire to write, was at school when I was an eighth grader in Morocco (my father was in the Air Force). I told a classmate I would write a book some day. She laughed at me and ridiculed me about that until my family returned to the states. I wish I could remember her name and find her so I could "show" her now. 
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP?  
I wanted to be a teacher as well as a writer. I taught for 30 years, high school mainly: English, writing, yearbook, newspaper, speech, drama, and debate. In my early thirties, I began writing poetry, articles, and short stories, which were published. 
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?
After the family Thanksgiving dinner two years ago, my three-year-old great-granddaughter climbed on the sofa beside me. "Granny," she said, "we need to visit." During our visit, she informed me, "You know, I like pink: dark pink, light pink, even almost white pink." Discovering she knew shades of colors existed gave me the idea for a book, not only about colors, but about shades. The main character also has my great-granddaughter's name, Haylee Rose.
TELL US SOMETHING INTERESTING ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER:  The first book I wanted to have published concerned experiences family members suffer when a child or children are "stolen." However, one of my grandsons had a reading problem. I thought if I could find him some books about athletics, his main interest, perhaps he might find he liked to read. I couldn't find any for middle-school-aged and older boys, other than a few boring biographies. So, I wrote one, The Base Stealers Club. I know baseball, even helped coach the sport. I like mysteries, grew up on Nancy Drew. I combined my two interests, wrote a book, mixed in some black and white photos from some of my grandsons' baseball games, and, voila, one book that did interest a reluctant reader. Then, I wrote a sequel, Case of the Missing Coach. Not only did my grandson enjoy the books, many other pre-teens and younger teens did, too.
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE? 
I have always been a voracious reader, reading different genres, different authors, and different styles. As a result, my style is a mixture of that of many authors.
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?
When I read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte as a seventh-grader, I knew I wanted to be able to write like Bronte. I wanted to bring characters alive, make readers hate for the book to end, take someone out of reality into the world of a book I wrote. 
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?
Every time any of my writing won an award, I felt I had proof I accomplished something. Having I Like Pink win the Children's Literary Classics Silver Seal gave me a thrill and a sense of pride. However, when a librarian asked my grandson if he had read his grandmother's book The Base Stealers Club, he answered, "Only three times," success was mine. 
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?
The process of becoming published is arduous and often disappointing. The main ingredients needed to succeed - determination and a thick skin. Another aspect of the process includes a writer's continuing to learn, improve, and refuse to give up. My pile of rejection letters and emails would paper my office, and most authors have the same experience. All submissions to 4RV Publishing, including submissions from company officers and staff, are sent to acquisition editors anonymously. I was rejected by my own company once. The head of the editorial department asked if I wanted him to send the manuscript to another editor, and I said no because the reasons given for the rejection were valid. I learned what I needed to do, where problems with my writing existed. Yes, rejection hurts; however, a good writer picks up the pieces, after having a short pity party, and either improves the manuscript or puts it aside to work on something else -- but he keeps writing, learning, and improving.
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK?
I wish I had good advice that wasn't expensive, but I don't. Of course, some publishers help promote, but most promotion must be done by authors. Entering competitions is one way to promote. Speaking at conferences helps. Networking with other authors gives a writer support. I attend writing conferences and all sessions dealing with marketing, which gives me ideas. I don't have space to share some of those ideas, but speaking with a marketing professional is a good idea.
IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU'D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS?Becoming a good writer requires learning how to be a better writer, through reading, workshops, and conferences. I taught writing for thirty years, but I attended workshops and writing clinics every one of those years, often two or three a year. I still attend at least two writing conferences a year. If we, as writers, don't continue to learn and improve, we begin to die.
WHAT OTHER BOOKS HAVE YOU PUBLISHED? 
All can be found or ordered through any bookstore or from Amazon as well as through the links provided.
Young Adult books:
Suspense and mainstream novels:
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?
Yes, I'm working on a historical novel, Burnt Offering.
TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOUR NEXT BOOK:
During the 8th Century BC, King Ahaz of Judah followed the idol Moleck, and he, along with others, sacrificed their children by burning them alive. Women during those days were considered property and had little to no say or control over their own lives. The question that kept popping in my mind wouldn't let me forget the topic, "What would I have done as a mother during that time period?" 
Little information of that time period exists, but my imagination took the research I found and turned it into a story of treachery, mystery, and struggle to survive. 
Burnt Offering, hopefully, will be finished by next summer and submitted. Until the novel is accepted, I will have no idea when it will be available.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Saturday, January 31, 2015

Author Spotlight, Monica Dumont, on her award winning children's book Alex and the Rabbit



Author Spotlight, Monica Dumont
on her award winning children's book 

Alex and the Rabbit




WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER?
When I was a teenager I wanted to write to help people, so I started writing poetry and got one of my poems published in a poetry book. It was very exciting! 
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?
I wanted to write a book that could help kids and I wanted the story to be simple as not to lose the teachings. So I sat down with my pen in hand and started to think about how children and sometimes adults can see the world around them in times of stress and that’s how the story of Alex and the Rabbit was created.  
WHAT OTHER BOOKS HAVE YOU PUBLISHED?  
CAN YOU TELL US ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER? 
I love writing books for children because every time I sit down to write, I get so involved in the story that if you were to watch me, you would see me laugh or go through the other emotions the characters in the book are going through. To me it’s almost like I’m living the story. 
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?
The book that had the greatest impact in my life is Spiritual Growth by Sanaya Roman 
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?
My greatest literary accomplishment is to have written and illustrated a series of four books in the period of four months. At present two of the four books have won awards.  
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS? 
Yes I do.  
My next book is a children’s chapter book about a girl who discovers the secrets and magic of nature. I would tell you more but I don’t want to spoil it for the readers.  


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Hidden Among Yourselves, by Bill Hiatt, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



Author Bill Hiatt has once again proven his ability to weave a spellbinding tale with the third book in his series about Taliesen Weaver, a teen who possesses magical powers and has lived countless past lives.  Book three picks up with Tal struggling to move past his anger over his good friend stealing away Eva, the girl of his dreams, amid dealing with an evil supernatural force bent on killing him.

Later, at a meeting of the tribunal, Tal is tasked with procuring the lyre of Orpheous.  He only has two weeks time to complete this inconceivable undertaking or risk an evil rival being released from imprisonment.  Armed with a team of friends with otherworldly powers, his magical sword, and a reed pipe, he sets out to conquer the foreboding forces that would deter his efforts to save Santa Brigida.  In a world where things are rarely as they seem,Taliesen finds himself waging a war of magical skill and wits against opponents he'd never believed truly existed.

Author Bill Hiatt possesses a knack for portraying dramatic events with vivid depth while weaving captivating tales of fantasy and adventure.  Hidden Among Yourselves is book three in the Spell Weaver series.  It can well be read as a stand-alone, but is recommended as part of a series.  Hidden Among Yourselves has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Bristol Bay Summer, by Annie Boochever, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval




Bristol Bay Summer, by Annie Boochever, is the story of a young girl who spends a summer in the "real Alaska" with her brother, mother and her mom's new boyfriend.  Zoey Morely is twelve, going on thirteen and is still grieving the loss of a family that once was.  She hasn't heard from her dad in nearly a year and now her mom's new boyfriend wants to drag them all out to live in tents in the wilderness at Bristol Bay.

When Zoey meets Thomas, a boy at the next camp over, she resents his new nick-name for her, city girl.  But when she gets a job working for Thomas' family, she is determined to ditch her city girl image and prove that she can work just as hard as he can.  Zoey is determined to make enough money to go see her father in Colorado in the hopes of finally learning why she hasn't heard from him in so long.

Author Annie Boochever has crafted a superb coming of age story that will resonate with young readers on many levels.  Bristol Bay Summer offers a rare combination of adventure, drama and age appropriate romance, all presented in a highly plausible story.  Boochever is a gifted story-teller who writes with a genuine voice and  has tackled relevant issues of growing up and dealing with loss in this powerful and engaging preteen novel.

Bristol Bay Summer comes highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Author Spotlight: W. Nikola-Lisa on his Top Honors award winning book



When did you first know you wanted to be a writer and why?
In my mid-20s, I was a parent of two young daughters and a second grade teacher. That pretty much did it as I was reading children’s books day and night, and fell in love with them and the art of writing.
As a child, what did you aspire to be when you grew up?
I grew up on a ranch in south Texas. What did I want to be? Easy. A cowboy!



How did you get the idea for your award winning title?
I was doing research for another book—Dear Frank: Babe Ruth, the Red Sox, and the Great War—and I stumbled upon a few things that puzzled me, like... Who were the Yankees before they came to New York? How did they get started? Why did it take them two years to enter the New York market? Perplexing questions are always my starting point.
What has been your greatest literary accomplishment?
Having published 25 books over a 25 year period. Equally important was winning the State of Wisconsin’s 2001 Golden Archer Award for Shake Dem Halloween Bones. The Golden Archer Award is a children’s choice award, which makes it even sweeter.
What literary achievement has had the greatest impact on your life as a writer?
My fourth book—Bein’ With You This Way—because it was a multi award-winning book that has taken me to many different audiences I could never have imagined.
Can you tell us some of the other books have you published?
Can you tell us something our readers will find interesting about your writing style?
I often write standing up. I learned this from an interview with the great singer/songwriter Paul Simon, who often stands throwing a rubber ball against a wall to establish a rhythm and melody. That seems to work for me, especially when I’m stuck.
Which author has most greatly influenced your writing style?
Actually there are several: M. B. Goffstein, Jane Yolen, and George Ella Lyon.
Can you describe the process of becoming published and any tips you might offer for other aspiring authors?
You need three things: intelligence, creativity, and persistence. Of the three, persistence is the most important. You have to knock on a lot of doors, many of which don’t open, or at the least don't open very easily.
Can you offer any advice for writers on how best to promote their book?
Join Goodreads.com, by far the best and most wide-ranging reading community on the internet. Great for making connections with other literary types.
Is there anything else you'd like to share with our readers?
People ask me two questions all the time: Why do I write? Who do I write for? The answer: I write because I can’t seem to turn it off, and I write first and foremost for myself—that’s how I learn, by reading and note-taking. My books are simply a by-product of my learning process.
Do you have any new books in the works?
Why, of course,....
My next book goes to press early next year. Entitled Shark Man, it is a follow-up to my memoir Dragonfly, only Shark Man is not a memoir; it is a novelization of my adolescent years growing up on the Florida beaches. It should be out by March 2015 and available on Amazon, both as a paperback and as a kindle e-book.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Motive Games, Death Down Under, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Phil Roland has been set up.  Someone has gotten their hands on SAII, the most recent game created by his deceased father's company, and sabotaged it.  SAII is hacked right before it is to be released at a gaming show in Auckland, tainting their chance to ever get the game published.  And the worst part is that someone has made Phil the fall guy.  Murder, intrigue, and suspense abound in this fast-paced, high stakes novel about a young man determined to set things straight before time runs out.  Gamers and technogeeks are sure to love this book which portrays a fascinating glimpse into the competitive world of gaming.

Motive Games, Death Down Under, is book #2 in the series by L.D. Taylor.  While book #2 may be read as a stand-alone, readers may spend some time playing catch up.  We recommend reading book #1 first, as the series makes for a great choice for readers, especially those who have an interest in gaming.

Author L.D. Taylor's firsthand experience in the world of gaming helps make this book a fascinating and enlightening read.  With well developed characters and a plot that resonates on many levels, this book earns our recommendation and has received the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Sunday, January 11, 2015

Author Spotlight - Lynne Stringer, on her award winning title, The Heir


Author, Lynne Stringer, on her award winning title,





WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?: I wrote my first book when I was eight. I can also remember telling my father I wanted to be a writer when I was four, so I guess I've always had the desire in me. When I was a teenager, I used to novelise movies and episodes of TV shows I liked and that was a great training ground for my writing.
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP? At three, I decided I wanted to be an actress. At four, I decided I wanted to be a writer. Although the acting dream didn't come true on a major level, both desires have never left me. Both were based on the desire to tell stories.
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?: My husband likes cheesy pick-up lines (not that he uses them on me … or anyone else, for that matter!) When we were going on holidays once, he was telling me his favourites while he was driving. I was trying to reciprocate but the only one I could think of was when the guy tells the girl, 'You are the only reason I was put on this planet.'
As I thought about it, I imagined a guy saying that to a girl. In my mind, she replied, 'Yeah, right.'
Then he said, 'No, you are the only reason I was put on this planet.'
That made me wonder … what if a guy said that to a girl and he meant it literally? The idea for The Heir was born and I spent most of our holiday thinking about it.
TELL US SOMETHING INTERESTING ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER: At my son's school they have a book club for the older grades and the book club read The Heir. One day, when I was walking my son to school, a girl came up to me and said, 'Excuse me, are you the author of The Heir?' When I said yes she started telling me how much she'd loved it. I felt like a celebrity!
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE?: I'm not sure I've been influenced as far as style goes. I think my style is my own. Authors whose books I like include Enid Blyton, the Brontes and Stephenie Meyer.
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte had a huge impact on me when I first read it. Prior to that, everything I'd written was in third person, but that book woke me up to the appeal of first person. Another book was Twilight. At the time I read it, it had been years since I'd read a novel and I hadn't tried writing any fiction for a decade. That book made me realise anew how moving fiction could be and I took up my pen, novelised a couple of TV episodes (just like I'd done when I was a teenager), then wrote The Heir.
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?: Receiving the Literary Classics silver award for The Heir in their young adult science fiction section.
HAVE YOU PUBLISHED ANY OTHER BOOKS?: Yes, The Crown (Verindon #2), The Reign (Verindon #3)
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?: I am currently working on a manuscript, tentatively titled, How Far Forgive? It is a contemporary drama about a girl who is involved in a hostage drama and has to find a way to forgive her attacker.  --It isn't available yet, as it is still in the production stage. To keep an eye on what's happening with it, follow me via my website: www.lynnestringer.com or my Facebook page, or on Twitter @TheHeirNovel.
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?:
Don't give up. Keep trying. Try and get an agent, as it will help. But even if you can't do that, don't stop. And before you do anything else, get a professional edit on your work. I can't stress this enough. Don't wait for the agent or publisher to have it done for you. They may well refuse your work because it's not up to scratch. Get an edit FIRST. If you decide to self-publish I would get three edits, because if you do self-publish, the onus is on you to get it right the first time. You don't want to put off potential fans because you produce work that isn't up to scratch.
Also, be prepared to accept criticism. You will get it.
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK? Try and be involved in sites for other books in your genre and do this because you like those books, not just because you want to promote yourself. People will be more inclined to show an interest in your work if they are encouraged by the fact that you share a mutual love for another title. And don't 'sell' at people all the time. Nothing is more annoying than someone who does nothing but put constant sales pitches on their Facebook page or Twitter feed. Talk about your writing journey and what you're doing. Also become involved as an author on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and anywhere else you can find.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org