Thursday, May 21, 2015

Author Spotlight - Mary A Osborne on her award winning title Alchemy's Daughter



WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?
I fell in love with creative writing as a student at Knox College in Galesburg, IL. After my first class in fiction writing, I was hooked. 
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP? 
A ballerina or a puppeteer. I was a daydreamer and loved the art of make-believe.
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE? 
The seed for Alchemy’s Daughter was planted during a trip to Italy. While staying in Florence, I took a daytrip to the nearby walled village of Certaldo. Here I visited the home of the medieval author, Giovanni Boccaccio. As I stood in the room where Boccaccio once wrote, I felt as though I had found my muse. Upon my return home, I started reading Boccaccio’s book, The Decameron, which was set during the time of Europe’s Great Plague. At this time, I was also very interested in the subject of alchemy and was reading the C.G. Jung’s book, Psychology and Alchemy. My fascination with medieval Italy and alchemy culminated in Alchemy’s Daughter.


TELL US SOMETHING ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER: 
Young readers often confuse me with Mary Pope Osborne, author of the Magic Tree House series. I always say I am the other Mary Osborne, and I write for teens and adults. 
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE?
I think Herman Hesse, author of Siddhartha and Narcissus and Goldmund, was the one who showed me how to integrate spiritual themes into a work of historical fiction.
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?
It’s tough to chose just one, but I received D’Aularies’ Book of Greek Myths when I was a young girl and have returned to it numerous times. I think the various myths help us make sense of life, as they represent archetypes of the human experience.
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?
The awards I have received for both of my novels were very gratifying, but I would say that my greatest literary accomplishment has been the use of my books in the classroom. It’s a true honor when my book is included in a school’s curriculum.  
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS? 
There are many ways to become published these days, but whether you go the traditional route or self-publish, selling books is a challenge for most authors. It’s important to start building your platform early in the process if you hope to earn any income from your books. But personally, I think the act of writing and creating art is more rewarding than the process of publishing, and this should be the focus. Very few of us will become best-selling authors.
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK? 
Start locally, in your hometown, and make sure everyone you know and meet is aware of your book! Consider local shops other than bookstores that might carry your title. Offer to do events at your public library and at other venues that might be interested in your topic.
WHAT OTHER BOOKS HAVE YOU PUBLISHED?
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?
I am starting the research for my third novel, The Last of the Magicians, set in 17th century England. I am thinking I need to visit London soon.
Since I write very slowly (and enjoy the process very much), it will be at least three years before my third book is published. When it comes out, it will be available at the usual retail and online stores.
​IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU'D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS?
I am so happy to see the Literary Classics gold award for young adult and historical fiction on the cover of Alchemy’s Daughter! Book awards provide a seal of approval and reassurance for readers who might not otherwise be familiar with your work. At book fairs, I’ve noticed that visitors seem to take special notice of my book now that it has the LC award seal on the cover. Thank you, Literary Classics! 
If you love a little romance, philosophy, intrigue, and magic, I hope you’ll check out Alchemy’s Daughter and let me know what you think!


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Once Upon an Ever After earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Once Upon an Ever After is the true story of Angeli, a recent high school grad who has just returned from a trip across the country to meet her online friends. She meets up with people she has become close to from an online story-telling/role playing game. While on her trip she has an encounter with her best friend’s cousin which leaves her scarred and traumatized, making it hard for her to let anyone into her life in any romantic way. When she meets Vincent, she is unsure of her feelings. Together they face the challenges of dating long-distance.  But ultimately, she wonders if he will respect her promise to God to stay pure until marriage.   


This book is the sequel to Angela Blount’s Once Upon a Road Trip.  Readers who have not read the first book may find the beginning of this one a bit hard to follow at first.  Regardless, this book is an attention grabber clear to the finish. Once Upon an Ever After offers a genuine glimpse into the real-life struggles of a girl navigating the tumultuous journey of young love. 

Once upon an ever after has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Saturday, April 25, 2015

Author Spotlight - Author Eric Price on his award winning book, Unveling the Wizards' Shroud



WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY? As a child, I didn’t like reading. That all changed in junior high when I picked up a second hand copy of Stephen King’s The Shining. The same year I had the first excellent literature teacher of my life. She turned me on to the likes of Poe and Irving. At some point, I realized these authors were just regular people too. I decided I could do it if I really wanted. Seventeen years later I sold my first story. 
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP? As a child, I always figured I’d become a veterinarian. I changed my mind when I saw how much school it took and how little it paid when finished. 
HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE? I took a writing course and I had to submit three possible story ideas. One of them turned into Unveiling the Wizards’ Shroud



TELL US SOMETHING INTERESTING ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER: My book is aimed at young adults, especially males. So far, most of my readers, at least the ones who’ve made contact with me, have been 30+ year old women. 
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE? 
I love how well Stephen King develops his characters. I strive to have characters interesting enough people will want to read about them regardless of what they’re doing. 
WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE? To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s so simple, yet such an amazing story. I never had to read this as an assignment for school, and I’m glad. Had I been forced to read it, I’d have never enjoyed it as much as I did by ‘discovering’ it on my own. 
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT? Having a publisher accept my first novel has to be my greatest achievement. The Literary Classics award for best first novel means a lot, but it, and any future novels I publish may not have happened without that first acceptance letter. 
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS? I wrote Unveiling the Wizards’ Shroud with the one-on-one instruction of a published author and editor. When I finished it, I eventually submitted it to publishers. After a handful of rejections, Muse It Up Publishing showed interest in it. They sent me a list of changes I’d need to make before they would send me a contract. I also had some ideas for changes of my own, most notably the addition of another character who would play a bigger role in a potential sequel.
I rewrote the complete manuscript. I intended on introducing this character at the beginning and showing her again at the end, but as characters often do, she had a mind of her own, and she stuck around for the whole book.
Muse It Up Publishing accepted the new version. There it went through six rounds of edits with three different editors, and the book could have never been anywhere near as good without each of them.
My advice to aspiring authors is don’t fear/get discouraged by rejection letters. They don’t necessarily mean your work isn’t good. Many publishers are so busy, they don’t do much more than glace at your cover-letter and synopsis. After you’ve written the best story you can, make sure your cover-letter and synopsis are held to the same high standard. If you still get rejected, make sure there’s nothing you can improve and send it somewhere else. 
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK? Promoting is the hardest part. I’ve tried a lot with mixed results. My current angle is to make connections with teachers and try to get them to have their classes read it. It helps if you make yourself available to speak to the classes as well. 
IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU'D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS? You can’t self-edit. Even if you decide self-publishing is the way you want to go, hire a freelance editor.
WHAT OTHER BOOKS HAVE YOU PUBLISHED? The first sequel to Unveiling the Wizards’ ShroudThe Squire and the Slave Master, is scheduled for an August 4 release.
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS? Yes. I've started the third and final book in The Saga of the Wizards series called, A Wizard Reborn. I’m also searching for an agent for a middle-grade sports/adventure book called Catching a Break. 

WHAT HAS IT BEEN LIKE BEING A RECIPIENT OF THE LITERARY CLASSICS BOOK AWARDS? After winning my award for Best First Novel, I received a contract for a paperback printing of my book. This likely would have happened anyway, but I think my publisher was extra excited to have a gold seal printed on the cover.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Friday, April 24, 2015

I Live in a Doghouse earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



I Live in a Doghouse, by Beverly Stowe McClure, is the story of Nick, his dog who is named Accident, and the blended family with whom they live. Things were mostly fine when it was just Nick, his mom and their four-legged friend.  But now he has to share a home with a bossy step-sister, Grace (who is allergic to Accident), a step-dad, and a new baby sister. To make matters worse, he's always being asked to babysit. When Nick wants to escape, mostly to avoid babysitting, he hides out in the doghouse with Accident, who has been banished from the house due to Grace's allergies.

On the surface this book is a light-hearted read with lots fun and comical events taking place.  The overall story provides greater depth with interesting and well developed characters, and a back-story which gives this book true substance.  As the book progresses, it takes on a more serious tone, while maintaining a whimsical vein.  I Live in a Doghouse is an excellent book that will appeal to young readers, especially those with a blended family experience.  This book comes highly recommended for school and home libraries.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Monday, April 20, 2015

The Violets are Mine earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval




The Violets are Mine, a memoir by Lester Morris, is the story of a young boy growing up in England’s orphanages during World War II.  Morris’s retelling of the harrowing experiences he endured as a child is told with true grace and charm.

A heartfelt thank you to Les Morris for sharing his early childhood memories. His rich descriptions force the reader to pause and marvel at his genuine will to survive some horrific events which no child should ever be expected withstand. The message of endurance and hope resonate throughout his stories and remind us that good people exist in society and that a kindness extended is returned a thousand times more. 

The Violets are Mine comes highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Friday, April 17, 2015

Knights of Nevertheless earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



R.A. McClure's Knights of Nevertheless, Escape from the Shadows is a riveting post apocalyptic novel about two boys and their mother who must escape the shadows of darkness which threaten their very existence.  Brothers, Stranth and Onar are on the cusp of manhood.  The two have a keen connection with each other and with their mother who will stop at nothing to ensure their protection from the evil which lurks in every corner.  Together, they battle darkness while clinging to the hope that they may somehow find a place where light casts out the shadows of darkness.

Escape from the Shadows is the first book in The Knights of Nevertheless series.  Destined to be a cherished classic, this book offers all the elements of young adult reading at its finest.  From the first page to the last, this book will capture and keep the attention of readers young and old.  McClure exhibits rare talent as a story-teller in this eloquently penned fantasy fiction novel.  We look forward to reading the next installment in the series by McClure who shows true promise as an up-and-coming author.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Jeremiah Lucky and the Guardian Angel earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


The only thing lucky about Jeremiah Lucky is his name.  But on his way to school one day, he finds a lucky penny; and that's when things start to change for him. After realizing he'd forgotten his library books and his field-trip permission slip, a peculiar little man appears and announces that he's Jeremiah's guardian angel.  Angus McDermit, as the angel is called, helps Jeremiah make good choices while coming to understand and accept that things in life don't always have to be perfect, even himself.

Jeremiah Lucky and the Guardian Angel is suggested for youth ages 7-10 and skillfully addresses such issues as latchkey children, dealing with death and loss, and kids being raised by a single parent.  This book is a quick and easy read and is recommended for classroom reading and for home and school libraries.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Greenheart of the Forest earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



In Book II of the Bethloria series by Lizbeth Klein, orphaned brothers Robbie and Dougray find themselves once again embroiled in adventure as they seek the Greenheart of the Forest. Author Lizbeth Klein takes readers on an exploration of mystery, adventure and discovery in this riveting fantasy for young readers. While on their quest, the boys learn their parents may still be living. Robbie and Dougray struggle to find truth as they, along with a quirky entourage, join efforts to survive attacks by black wolves and raging rivers. Magical forces help to guide them as they seek to find truth on their journey towards realizing their destiny.

Klein continues to engage readers with book two in her Bethloria series which is well-developed and interwoven with threads and undertones which keep this story interesting and entertaining on many levels. Fans of Firelight of Heaven are sure to love this book in the Firelight Series.

Greenheart of the Forest is a delightful addition to Klein's fantasy series which comes highly recommended.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Pancakes with Papa earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



When a young boy loses his grandfather, his heart aches to see him again.  His mother tells him his Papa can only return to visit him in his dreams; but those dreams fail to provide him with the reunion he so desperately longs for.  One day at breakfast he asks his grandmother when his Papa will visit him.  That's when the young boy's grandmother helps him find a very special way to see his grandfather whenever he wishes.

Pancakes with Papa is a beautiful story of an enduring love which transcends beyond the grave. Author Dena Albergo Jayson has penned a tale which will help young readers find hope in the lasting memories of loved ones who have passed away.  Lovely illustrations by Rainer M. Osinger are perfectly paired with this children's picture book which is sure to create opportunities for discussion with youngsters dealing with loss.  Young and old alike will be touched by this heart-warming book which we highly recommend for home and school libraries.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, April 2, 2015

Dragon and Captain earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Dragon and Captain is a real joy to behold.  Told in comic book style, it is a quick and light read which is simply enchanting.  But the crowning glory of this whimsical book is the illustrations which nearly steal the show from the witty humor penned within the pages of this delightful book.  Author P.R. Allabach and Illustrator Lucas Turnbloom are quite a team as they depict a day in the life of two boys playing make-believe.  Vivid illustrations charmingly depict the boys becoming immersed in a wild and daring adventure.  As they don makeshift costumes the two are transformed into a life-like dragon and his wily companion, a ship's captain.  Creativity runs rampant in this book which is sure to capture the hearts and imaginations of young children.

Dragon and Captain comes highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Monday, March 9, 2015

Friendship Thoughts, Famous Quotes, and a Journal, by Dr. Jan Yager, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Friendship Thoughts, Famous Quotes, and a Journal, written by Dr. Jan Yager, is more than just a journal.  It also offers years of collective insight and a compilation of thought-provoking quotes on the subject of friendship.  The book’s introduction provides observations and excerpts on the author’s findings from her other published works on the subject.  Everything from the importance of friendships to the health benefits of having a good friend, this book covers the A to Zs of friendships all within a very concise, yet thoughtful forward which also touts the perks of journaling.

Each page within the body of the book includes space for journal entries along with a quote on friendship.  Some quotes are familiar, while other, more obscure selections, are likely to be new to readers.

Ideal for gift-giving, or as a gift to yourself, this journal is sure to become a cherished anthology of quotable quotes compiled by the author as well as those thoughts penned by the reader. 


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Friday, March 6, 2015

Love is Forever, by Casey Rislov, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Love is Forever is a children's storybook narrated by a wise owl to his grandchild.  It is a tender, sweet story of the gift of love that lives on, even after the grandfather's life has ended.  This book is written like a love-letter from beyond the grave.  Love is Forever offers comfort, hope and inspiration to those who have lost, or are facing the loss of, someone very dear.

Author Casey Rislov gets right to the core of grief, gently nudging young reader's hearts as she nurtures their aching souls.  Illustrations by Rachael Balsaitis merge beautifully with the message penned in this book that will touch readers of all ages.

Love is Forever comes highly recommended for home and school libraries and for use in clinical settings for grief counseling.   An appendix provides expert advice on helping children through the grieving process.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Thursday, March 5, 2015

Author Spotlight - P.C.R. Monk on his award winning title Strange Metamorphosis


WHEN DID YOU FIRST KNOW YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER AND WHY?
As a boy I was always fascinated by words and their musicality and, like many kids, I used to write poems. Coming from a modest background I was embarrassed about my secret emotions and would hide the poems under my mattress until one day my mother unearthed them. She thought I either had lots of girlfriends or a fertile imagination, either of which were quite worrying! My desire to write grew until one day I wrote a page of text which I imagined as part of a whole book. To think you can actually create a whole world with just words made me realise their countless possibilities! From that day on I wanted to be a writer.
AS A CHILD, WHAT DID YOU ASPIRE TO BE WHEN YOU GREW UP?
I wanted to be a footballer (or a soccer player) and then a songwriter. I suppose both sport and music offer the have-nots the most accessible way to success. But I gave them up when I really got into writing, and I have never since wanted to be anything other than a writer (of poems, plays, novels and even video games!).



HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?
I started taking notes for Strange Metamorphosis a long time before I set to writing the book. I ended up living in a tumble-down country house in the south of France with a splendid park that belonged to my wife’s deceased grandmother, the Countess d’Armagnac de Castanet. Sounds posh but in fact the house, though very large, had holes in the roof and no heating. I lived there with my wife for two years and loved every minute of it. I had also developed a passion for bugs and my imagination was really fired when I read from the house library the works of a naturalist who wrote, not like a scientist, but like a poet, with gusto, humour and personality. His name was Jean Henri Fabre and he died in 1912. So I had the setting and the insect characters of my story. When my first son came along I decided to write the book for him. Then he was joined by his brother, and then another brother. So the book grew around those to whom it is dedicated.
TELL US SOMETHING RANDOM/INTERESTING/FUNNY ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A WRITER:
I was writing the book when one sunny afternoon my eldest son, then only 5, came indoors proud as punch having found a shiny rhinoceros beetle perfectly intact but quite dead. He was mighty surprised at its lifeless state. So, to give it a new lease of life, we named it Rhino and it became one of the main insect characters of Strange Metamorphosis!
WHICH AUTHOR HAS MOST GREATLY INFLUENCED YOUR WRITING STYLE and WHAT BOOK HAS HAD THE GREATEST IMPACT ON YOUR LIFE?
When my mother understood I was interested in reading and writing she had the brilliant idea of buying me Marshall and Cavendish’s The Great Writers, a collection of English language classic works of fiction, which she diligently collected over two years. So I have been influenced by all those wonderful books from the Canterbury Tales to Huckleberry Fin. Then I moved to France and discovered French literature which I loved, and to some extent, Spanish literature when I lived in Spain. But my first favourite book as a young man was Dylan Thomas’s collection of short stories under the title of Portrait of the Artist as a Young Dog. This is one of the books I had in my rucksack when I left England. My second son bears the author’s first name. In another vein The Alchemist by Brazilian novelist Paulo Coelho is simply beautiful, full of wisdom and fantasy.
WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST LITERARY ACCOMPLISHMENT?
I recently moved back to Cambridge, England and was surprised and overjoyed when two of my plays were selected to be staged script-in-hand. I hope to get them into full production someday. But my proudest literary accomplishment to date has to be Strange Metamorphosis because it is my first published novel.
CAN YOU DESCRIBE THE PROCESS OF BECOMING PUBLISHED AND ANY TIPS YOU MIGHT OFFER FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?
As an unknown author I chose not to take the long and traditional route and instead decided I would indie-publish my novel to see first if it had any chance of people liking it. Just because I was publishing it myself, though, did not mean I wanted to take an easy way round. No, in fact, I joined an online writers group which enabled the first 10,000 words to be critiqued anonymously by other writers. In return I critiqued other writers’ work, anonymously of course. This is a terrific exercise that both sharpens your literary skills and gives you great feedback about the beginning of your book. Then once I had completed the manuscript I decided to pull it apart and go through the structure rather like you would a screen play. This enabled me to get the pacing as I wanted. Once I’d finally got something I was happy with I paid for a professional evaluation. This led to another rewrite and a reduction of the text. I then submitted it to two more editors both of whom loved the manuscript and the characters and considered it ready for market. So I went ahead and self-published it.
As a tip, I’d say rewrite and rewrite until you know deep down that it sounds right. Another tip, if you come with a passage that turns out like a bag of knots, take your pen or pencil, plan the piece and then write it again manually. I always feel that drawing each curve of a letter gets you closer to the text than typing it out fully formed.
CAN YOU OFFER ANY ADVICE FOR WRITERS ON HOW BEST TO PROMOTE THEIR BOOK?
I published my book really to test its likability and commercial potential. To do this I needed bona fide reviews. One way of priming the pump is by doing a Goodreads giveaway. I also contacted industry people like Kirkus and, of course, CLC. I know there are other ways of getting word out about your book such as doing a virtual book tour but, as I said earlier, my goal was to find out if other people would like my book. My next step now is to find an agent. Winning the Eloquent Quill award will certainly help towards this.
DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?
I have two books on the go, the sequel to Strange Metamorphosis and a historical fiction set during the age of sail. 2015 is going to be a really busy year because further to my novels I shall be working on the story of an Assassin’s Creed videogame.
The sequel of Strange Metamorphosis takes place a few years later, with Marcel as a First World War pilot.
IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU'D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS?
Just to say a big thanks to CLC as well as to those who have taken the time to leave comments on Amazon and Goodreads. You can’t imagine the boost it can give to a writer when someone has taken the trouble to write a review.Being approved by an independent body gives you confidence, and also validates your book in the eyes of the reader, especially if you are an indie author. What a surprise it was when I found out Strange Metamorphosis  had won the Eloquent Quill! When the general email came through announcing the winners I looked to see the winners list and to my immense surprise I saw my book right up there and I just sat there gazing, joyfully speechless.
LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Sir Princess Petra's Talent, by Diane Mae Robinson, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


When Petra, a precocious young princess, earns her knighthood, her father the king is not at all pleased.  In order to prepare his daughter to one day become a suitable queen, he insists she attend talent school where she will learn to behave like a proper princess.

Armed with her quick wit, and a fierce determination, Princess Petra sets off to earn a talent.  As she journeys to talent school, traveling with her trusty dragon, Snarls, she acquires new friends along the way.  Together, Princess Petra's motley entourage makes enlightening discoveries and encounters merry adventures throughout their expedition.


Princess stereotypes are gloriously debunked in this book about a royal who dares to be herself. Princess Petra will charm and inspire youngsters as she fearlessly outwits those who would thwart her progress in achieving her own goals, all the while helping others realize their own dreams.  Author Diane Mae Robinson's second book in the Pen Pieyu Adventures is a delightful read and one that is sure to engage and enthrall young readers.  Sir Princess Petra's Talent is recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Tales of Mr. Snuggywhiskers - The Autumn Tales, by C.F. Crawford, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



When Hallie finds herself mysteriously shrunken and poised in front of a very small door hidden in a tree in her yard, she starts to doubt the plausibility of her unlikely situation.  But then, embracing the moment in her own magical story, she decides to explore what lies on the other side of the door. Thus begins the adventures of Hallie and her sister Cory as they enter the world of Mr. Snuggywhiskers, a talking mouse who wears a three piece suit and a tie.

C.F. Crawford, has penned an imaginative and engaging tale in which civilized mice engage in celebrations and enjoy travel as much as any human might.  Young readers will thrill in the adventures of Hallie and her sister as they discover an entirely unknown world hidden right in their own backyard.

Tales of Mr. Snuggywhiskers - The Autumn Tales, is recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Awards & Reviews International Book Awards • Top Honors Youth Book Awards • Seal of Approval http://www.clcawards.org